Week 23 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest My Entry

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone and welcome to another great week of the Pay it Forward Contest this will be my entry. I am glad I have been able to be a part of this. At first I was entered into the contest. Also I won that week. After that I have entered it each week after and glad to have had two of my featured bloggers win. Also I am glad to have seen some of those bloggers start to enter this contest as well. Watching it grow has been fun and I will try to stay a sponsor like I have that last few weeks. For anyone that has not heard of the Pay it Forward Contest Please click on that link and check it out. I want to give a big thanks to @wolfhart and @thedarkhorse both are great members of steem. Also I want to welcome @abh12345 who does a lot of great things here on steemit and now has taken time to be part of this.

So my first blogger to feature this week is someone that many of you might know. @quillfire Rep 50 is a blogger I found the other day due to some other people I follow. He is doing a series on how he feels that seemit has some major problems and he has ideas for how to fix it. I have read all the post and while I don't agree with all his points the work he puts into his post are impressive and they are very well written. This is the most resent post in his series Fixing Steemit give it a read and if you like it read the other parts. Also don't be afraid to debate him. He is willing to take part in friendly exchanges on these ideas.

The next blogger I am going to share with you is @tdas0 Rep 50. This is also someone that you might know as he is around the pay it forward group a lot. His post are always good but this week he is starting something New It is a idea to help great more new users. He is going to do the legwork of looking for the real ones and try to share them with you. I am in the process now of going out to greet some of these people. I really like this idea as we all hope to see steemit grow and new users are key. This should help to avoid so many quitting early from a lack of engagement.

Lastly I want to give a shout out to the other sponsors. @ecoinstant, @thehoneys, @bengy, @andrewharland, @el-nailul, @erodedthoughts, @thedarkhorse. If anyone wants to join just reach out to @thedarkhorse please try to visit the sponsors post and say thanks if you can.

Sort:  

Did you know that if you right-click on the photo you want to highlight from your chosen bloggers, you can "copy image address" - this allows you to paste it into your post and feature their pictures without any downloading or such. You can even add a little disclaimer that the photos remain the property of the bloggers... or whatever. :-)
Just a little suggestion that can make your PIFC entries look even more awesome!

You know I was thinking of something to add and that didn't come to mind thanks.

Up before 🌄 (here) and finding this little "tidbit" of great advice @viking-ventures! I knew there was a good reason for putting your post on the bottom of my entry. You've got a lot of valuable experience and input to offer. For the benefit of us all.

Until we "meet" again, have a great day!

Thanks for stopping by!
I try to be a quick learner so that I can help others.
I still need to do a top ten post for my curation series.

Thank you for another great entry @stever82! I'm going to check out your features as soon as I'm done this comment, but I know they'll be good :) I've followed quillfire for some time; he's actually a poet too ... a very talented writer indeed! And I'm also familiar with tdas0 as well :)

Thanks again!

@lynncoyle1,

Lynn ... I so badly just want to go back and write poetry. About anything really. A teaspoon opining about the health benefits of Stevia. The fate of a falling leaf. The existential loneliness of being a drop lost in an ocean. No matter how utterly banal, it would be preferable to arguing about the Utopian dreams of anarchists and blockchain governance. What was I thinking?

If my daughter ever comes home and says, "Daddy, I'm dating a coder" ... I'll disown her.

Quill

hahaha Quill ... I say, quit pining and start writing. Don't get caught on the hamster wheel of

the Utopian dreams of anarchists and blockchain governance.

Hwy @stever82 will be visiting both of these amazing authors, appreciate this contests role in making the community more of a family where we know ea h other.

Thanks for checking them out.

Looking forward to checking out their content

Nice choices.

And the sponsors are an awesome group too...

Namaste, jaichai

@stever82,

Thanks for the spotlight. I really appreciate the effort.

If I'm still alive at the end of this very time-consuming How To Fix Steemit Series, I'm going to do one of these Pay It Forward posts too. It's a great idea. As a blockchain, we've really got to start trying to increase our quality-content-curation efforts.

I figure I've got about a 50/50 chance of survival ... people really don't like change and some have gotten really, really mad. Oh, the name calling. I'm closely watching a new hashtag called "gallows or guillotine." If I see my username show up, I'm going underground.

Quill

Ya it is a bummer that more people can't allow us just to talk about changing things without getting very upset. You run a risk doing that series of getting downvoted so much but I feel it is cause your post are so well done that they worry you might get some people talking. But I still don't think it will change much. The people on top benefit so much from the setup now why would they change. Maybe if they are tried of steem only being worth a dollar.

@stever82,

I wish I could say I disagree ... alas, I don't. I don't know what possesses me to even try. I guess it's because I believe the "Original Idea" of Steemit is so utterly brilliant that it is worth trying anything in an attempt to save it.

It all comes down to ideology. The anarchists have a religious-like obsession with the "No Rulers, No Rules" mantra. So, instead of implementing a few simple Rules, and a manner for their enforcement (my proposals), they create ever more complex code in an attempt to "positively incentivize" people for "good behavior."

"Positive incentives" don't work on crooks. You need "negative incentives" as well. Hence, the expression, "the carrot or the stick." But ... no one can be told what they can or can't do because that would be blasphemy. There can be no Rules of Conduct. They're on a mission to teach humanity a lesson ... ban all governments. But there's a reason why anarchism has never once, in all of human history, ever been implemented: It doesn't work.

Incidentally, I wrote a Follow Up article as well:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@quillfire/follow-up-central-premise-and-proposals-a-series-about-fixing-steemit-part-4

Quill

Yes I saw the problem in actions. I went to a whale's page saw him post just "1" In the subject line the post was only a few hours old and it was at over $40 dollars. So I posted that I was bummed a silly post could earn so much. He chimes in with "What are you some kind of dictator telling us how to use our voting power." It caught me off guard cause I never said how they had to vote only that I was sad a silly post could get that much money. We went back and forth a bit but I stopped cause I didn't want to have him go out and ruin my post that are pending payouts. Just the fact I have to do that shows part of the problem. I am not really free to challenge them cause they can down vote me out of this place.

Great finds, @stever82! I've not only visited and voted... but also bookmarked the posts to return to them later.

Good entry and both bloggers have been upvoted. Thanks again for your support.

Both of your featured authors have been upvoted. Good features you have there.

Up before 🌄 (here) and supporting your post @stever82, into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest.

I really liked these two choices and have supported them both, as well. In the short time I have, I just want to express my appreciation for your efforts to find under-supported new Steemians.

It is a lot of work, but for a good cause - building a healthy, thriving "middle class" here inside our "Steemisphere."

All the best to you, moving forward, as we all work together to add value to our Steem blockchain!

Thank you it is a bit of work to find these people but it is fun to share their stuff and I hope they enjoy it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55