Pay it forward - my first time.

in #payitforward7 years ago

It goes back to the late 70's when I walked into a McDonald's to grab a quick lunch. I remember being in a hurry but today don't remember why. There was an old man in front of me with gray hair who was slightly bent over. His clothes were old and shabby, but clean. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that he was well kept, as his hair was combed, his shirt was tucked in and his shoes were polished.

When his turn came, he simply ordered a cheeseburger and a coffee. The lady behind the counter told him what the total would be and held her hand out. He dug into his pocket and was counting out change, when he discovered that he didn't have enough to cover it, he was embarrassed . He stirred my heart, so I told the lady that I was paying for him. He was a little reluctant, but when I said that I would like to sit and have lunch with him, he was all in. I matched his order but with 2 fries - one for him. He said he would find a good table and that I should bring the food over.

The next hour and a half flew by as he shared his life with me. He had no family to speak of, but he lit up talking about his career in the Navy. He was fiercely proud to have been in the Navy. I mostly remember how he laughed and whispered and spoke loudly with excitement. At one point, he teared up, but most of the time he had a grin from ear to ear.

It was apparent that he was very lonely and he clearly enjoyed having someone genuinely interested in listening to him. He asked a few questions about me, although I continued to focus the conversation around him. I walked out that day thinking he was really happy with what just happened and how I was richer for it. Today I actively look for opportunities to pay it forward and have learned through time that this "connection" I experienced with the old man doesn't happen with every need that I perceive. The way it usually happens is, there is something in my heart telling me when it's time pay it forward.

I'm sure there are many that have similar experiences and I would lover to hear them. I just want to encourage everyone to watch for the opportunities as many are hurting around this time of year. Open your heart and be enriched!!

old man pict.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @smitty0101! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51