You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Independence Day - Week 14 of Pay It Forward Curation Contest

in #payitforward6 years ago

Good morning @thedarkhorse! Beautiful day (here at least) in America. Happy Independence Day!

Following up on your original comment to me (did not “know” of you prior to that), I have now read @headchange’s post. Pressed for time, looked through your profile and made two observations:

  1. Your “started in” on August 2017. As did I, with one very notable exception. I started as an investor only. You appear to have been engaged from day one. Well done!

  2. You spend a considerable amount of time to create the content you post, judging by the graphics etc. As a result, so far, while I have encountered other “support groups" (and they all are doing valuable, “heartfelt” work) in our Steem Community, yours stands out to me as the best. I specifically like the format you have put together, whereby those submitting posts for future consideration, must first build a post of their own … And they are nominating someone else, rather than themselves … Great concept!!

As mentioned to @headchange, they say,

“... imitation is the sincerest form of flattery ...”

Source

So … As time permits (my number one challenge, hands down …), I will endeavor to put together my own post in your format and submit it to you and @pifc, for future consideration of the “Pay It Forward” team!

One quick question, as your time permits. In your experience, given what I have mentioned above about all the “support groups” here in our Steem Community, how would suggest we go about deciding where to “draw the line?” There are too many (I am already on “overload” …) to support them all.

Aside from the “easy button” answers: 1) ”Pick mine!” and 2) ”…whatever seems best to you …,” I thought I would ask, as I suspect you have a well-considered answer.

Upvoted. Resteemed. And now following you and @pifc! 😊 👍

Now … Back to the post I was working on finishing up, when Partiko indicated I had received an upvote and a comment from you … Keep up the great work!

Steemin’ along and on the move ... Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Sorry for the delay in reply, been one of those week for me. We ran a massive estate sale this week at a very high end home. That is one of my businesses...and one that can eat up a lot of time on me.

As for your question about "support groups", I would say that you need to find a couple that have people to work with that you enjoy spending time with and go from there. You need to be able to take care of yourself first and foremost so giving everything away in terms of votes and time just doesn't allow for your own growth.

With the PIF contest you are engaging new people, but at the same time there is a great group of people who visit each other's entries and help boost them. Over time we will all benefit from this community approach to growth. Each time one of us powers up our account we are all benefiting.

Hope to find time to make a couple entries over the coming weeks and see if you like what we are doing here.

Not a problem @thedarkhorse, I'm sure you're very busy. Thanks for investing the time in this response to my question.

"You need to be able to take care of yourself first and foremost so giving everything away in terms of votes and time just doesn't allow for your own growth."

No question. And "there's the rub" amongst others ... I take the "quality, not quantity" maxim here in our Steem Community very seriously. So ... I wish I could say I just "whip it out" in a few minutes, but definitely not the case ...

What is then "left over?" Not enough time. My two fixed constants remain unchanged - "there's only (so far anyway! 😊) one of me and 24 / 7 / 365 ..." Oh, yes, and then there's my beloved lifemate inquiring, "Honey! Are you still alive in there?" ...

Well, if it's "meant to be" I'll figure it out. I can assure you I'm "working on it" ...

Have a good day @thedarkhorse. And keep up the great work!

Steemin’ along and on the move ... Posted using Partiko Android

My Wife wonders about about the time investment sometimes. But that is why you will find I do a lot of my Steemit first thing in the morning or late at night. She is sleeping and it's a good time to knock it out. To me I look at this in a long term way. If I'm correct and we are in early and more wide spread adoption happens then all time invested will be repaid many times over. If I'm wrong I'm giving up a little TV time or messing around on the internet wasting time somewhere else. In the end most of the time I stay up till 1am no matter what anyways so why not be trying to do something for the future.

Very good @thedarkhorse.

"To me I look at this in a long term way. If I'm correct and we are in early and more wide spread adoption happens then all time invested will be repaid many times over. If I'm wrong I'm giving up a little TV time or messing around on the internet wasting time somewhere else."

Definitely a long-term guy myself. While still quite "new," tried to emphasize, in my latest post, that "engagement" in our Steem Community appears to me to be a "marathon race."

At least if the focus of a person is to generate any significant income, let alone earn a "living wage" ...

So ... I agree with your perspective. Thanks for investing your time to provide it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88