The Monster Within - original art and short campfire story - #payitforward @l0k1

in #payitforward8 years ago (edited)

This is a #payitforward post benefiting @l0k1.

My posts will be 50/50 until the end of the year for an initiative in giving to active Steemians in need. If you know someone who needs a boost, kindly leave a message in comments. I cannot promise that any single post will have significant earnings, but all liquid STEEM and SBD generated will be donated to the recipient.


The Monster Within

The Monster Within by Meredith Loughran, art, sketch, drawing
Picture taken in low light


A bit of flash fiction to get our campfire stories going!

Sitting by the campfire, he felt the heat emanating from the crackling wood. Unwilling to let the blaze ebb into hot embers and then cold darkness, he threw on another log. Catching quickly, he could hear the damp wood hiss then pop from the release of steam within it's damp veins to splinter and suffer the hot licking flames.

Not far from where he sat, a lonely owl hooted as the dried, brown leaves rustled with the wind and scampering night critters. The woods were his safe haven; away from obnoxious people and their concrete jungle gyms. He looked like them; walked and talked like them, but he was not like them at all. No...

The beast within wanted out, but freedom in the wood was better than a 6x8 cell. Better to stay here in the moonlight, and yet he wondered how long before he was trapped between the two worlds? He glanced with disillusioned eyes to the corpse beside him. She was trouble with a capital T and hell would soon rain down on his head as he heard the sirens and barking dogs in the distance. They were looking for her - not for him.

And with a silent grin he knew his next meal was coming up the mountain.

END


Progression of the drawing

I initially started with a pencil sketch and traced with black marker. Then I started to fill in with a lot of black to have some kind of background. I wasn't too crazy about the streaks from the markers on this piece so I broke out the oil pastels and started to shade with different colors.

I was pretty happy with it, but when I turned out the lamp and looked down at the picture I really liked the effect of low light on it.

What's your opinion?


#payitforward progress

[Edited to add]

Pending Payout


One last thing...

I'm omitting my usual signature line for this public service announcement.

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

#payitforward

Sort:  

Great post and nice charitable gesture. ♡

Thank you - and shoot! I wanted to add backlinks to the other posts. ARGH. I hate editing my Steemit posts.

That does look very good. Seems to add mystery to the picture.

When I was drawing it my husband was like, "Why are you so angry?" LOL Ironically I was in a great mood but this is the first time I drew a picture with more masculine features and I had a spooky story in my mind. :)

and most likely on your face!!! I mean how could you look happy and fun when drawing something that looks like it jumped out of my body this morning?? lol Great job btw.

That's how I feel in the morning before coffee and food.

Feeling and looking are two different things.....lol

Thank you @gabrielmrpr
Welcome to Steemit! Are you learning the place?

yea little by little.

Beautiful story my great friend @ merej99, beautiful work as usual and congratulations for the cause, thanks for sharing

Thank you @jlufer. You are wonderful and I appreciate you.

Very nice gesture for sure , especially at Christmas! @l0k1 deffinatly could use the money ! If I wasnt living paycheck to paycheck myself I would love to help out the cause as well ! Theres many in need ! For now I can at least resteem his and others blogs to hopefully help them get more noticed and some whale or dolphin love ! Good luck and steem on !♨😉 👍♨ Great little story by the way ! And the picture is awesome ! Mysterious but scary ! Well done !

I'm paycheck to paycheck too. Actually ran out of money before we ran out of month but I haven't had to skip a meal. @smysullivan and I both mentioned that Loki is now working on a cracked cell phone because his laptop died. I know he's resourceful but I think he could use a boost.

I made dolphin a couple of weeks before I expected to. That was my December goal. I hit it so I feel like I can give back. Please let me know if you come upon anyone who needs a boost. It doesn't even have to be a call for help, but something you've read. A surprise donation in their wallet is the best present! I know because I've been on the receiving end. :)

Thats really great to hear ! Congratulations on being a dolphin! I wish , my past 7 posts or so have earned me only pennies so im stuck on reputation 63.8 for a long time now ! Lol ! With my 3 new badges waiting to be used as the one is for a 64+ reputation! God I didnt think it would take so long ! Lol ! Im afraid at this rate it will be awhile before i join you in dolphin hood ! Haha! Meanwhile for sure I will let you know if someone is desperately in need ! I also follow loki and know his predicament! Also klye ! My fellow Canadian! Steem on ! 👍😊

Excellent post and initiative! You have earned yourself a place on my autovote list, as you always post good stuff! I will still read it when I can, of course. But not in the Christmas holidays, I will be offline.

Thank you so much @kooshikoo
Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to you and your family. Even with my fun posts I try to bring value in some way so I appreciate the auto upvote. All best. :)

I always love a good camping story!

I know you've got a poet heart @countryinspired
I'll be looking for some campfire stories out of your corner of Steemlandia too ;)

In time you shall :)

I will dedicate a post for him if it helps, but what is the issue here...

@skapaneas, I was fortunate enough to make it to dolphin status before my goal so I am dedicating the rest of the year to #payitforward.

I'm focused on people who are in need without regard to their Steemit status. @klye needs to move so I dedicated a post to him. @dailybitcoinnews and @l0k1 are essentially homeless and have been using their Steemit earnings for things like food and supplies. Loki's laptop died and now he's working on a cracked cellphone. I've got another online friend who doesn't eat every day but at least he's got a roof over his head. There is need on many different levels.

I may not be able to give much. A straight donation is not in my budget, but I can give my time and donate the STEEM & SBD from my posts. Even a random act of kindness to a newbie on the platform would boost morale, don't you think?

Thank you @apollomission - there are more to come so keep checking back.
Aren't you working on a permaculture project? Would you like to put them (or be) on the list? I can't promise much but I can promise a post and some exposure to it on my end.

I sure will. Why yes I am working on permaculture projects. Im not sure what list this is(I am a total steemit newb) but I would be honored to have your help and support @merej99

I'm gathering a list of people who could benefit from a boost in my #payitforward initiative. I had a goal to reach "dolphin" (5000 SP) before year end. I did it early! So I'm dedicating all the liquid STEEM and SBD from my posts to people or projects in need.

I've already sent klye and dailybitcoinnews the author rewards. Loki gets this post...and so on. Anyone in need, anyone who needs a boost, even newbies who just want to see something in their wallet.

I don't care if a member is a minnow or a whale. It's just the spirit of giving and being thankful. I'd be happy to include you in that list - and please let me know if there is anyone needs a little loving attention. I'd like to put the priority on need, but I can't guarantee any big payouts. :)

Woa! This is so generous @merej99 !!! I would love to be included on the list! I will also keep in mind others that might be in need! Gratitude.

What a great idea, and very generous :) I do like the dark photo better, it adds to the atmosphere. I'm so impressed with your work, I really love that you rekindled your creative passion! It's inspiring :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83