You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help! Pay It Forward - Contest Theme Ideas Needed

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

I have an idea!

I see a lot of people in here expressing that the current format takes up a lot of time, between finding three good articles and then doing all of the write ups. What if we had some people acting as "spotters" finding great articles, surfacing them in comments, and other people can take a look, curate further, and do the write ups? The curators and writers would be eligible for contest prizes, and the spotters could earn a little bit through upvotes.

Edit: part of my motivation here is that I would really like to be a spotter. I like finding hidden talent on here, but I take a really long time to write full articles. I would have a lot more fun just doing the scouring.

Sort:  

Now, I really like this idea the second most. I suck at scouting, quite frankly. By far the most time consuming part for me is looking for quality below the 50 rep score. I get the quality but not the score and vice versa.

My most favorite idea is dropping the number from 3 to 2....or I'd say that if you keep 3 then lift the 50 and below requirement. There are quite a few folks in the mid 50's that I'd love to feature but can't.

@thedarkhorse, what do you think about trying this out next week and also lowering to 2? I volunteer to be a spotter!

Edit: My first contribution: https://steemit.com/story/@unstitched/fresh-short-story-teeny-tiny

Double edit: Oops, just saw it was curied. Oh well, keeping it here anyway.

You found something that got curied so you clearly can find some talent!

The judges and I need to talk about the idea of making changes to make sure we are all on the same page, but more and more I'm thinking that 2 featured posts per week might be a smart move.

I've debated about going to say level 55. The issue is I think that it opens the doors to far and we will just get a ton of entries of level 51-55 people. Might be wrong, but pretty sure of this. I'm not dead set on the issue, but think the number of featured posts might be the solution to making the effort a little easier to keep people going with the contest.

And remember it's level 50 and below, so that might help you a little.

I was thinking of allowing a "over 50" on the 3rd blogger just if you stuck with 3 posts as the number. So 2 bloggers below 50 and one from a higher tier.

That could be a good option.

We have a discord channel and I think that we could easily create space for this. Those who don't want to spend time with the post, but are looking to find great content could post there. Not sure how to reward that, but think if we all put our heads together their has to be a way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62