You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Late Night Thoughts: Making money on Steemit is "Hard Work" whined the huffer

Okay, so I've read two posts now about whining on discord, and after reading things about it last week, I'm still not using it for anything other than GINAbot.

I've also been reading about how the redfish and minnows are complaining that no one upvotes their posts. Must have seen three or four of those just today.

Dave Mccoy wrote a post about that, too, so maybe he's referring to the same thing. At any rate, that's been this week's theme for sure.

Joining Asher's leagues has helped me to see that I wasn't doing nearly as much as I thought I was. And it's helped me to look at what I can do to hopefully add value to someone else's post by commenting and upvoting. Turning my focus from me, and at times, oh woe is me, has helped tremendously.

It's awesome that you were able to get some cheering up going after a hard work day and the whiner. I probably would have ignored them, muted them whatever after the first exchange, so you're better than me for even trying to reason with them.

Sort:  

Yes it's going around for sure. The problem is IMO that many in some parts of the world are being brought here in ways that make them think there is easy money to be made. Someone sent me a link to a Instagram post that was promoting steemit in nigeria (I think) as an easy way to print money. Showing someone holding cash. Anyone that came here from that has the wrong idea of what steemit is. There have been a few other examples sent to me too showing the same bad behaviors trying to get more users to sign up. WHY? We don't need users who are here to try and make a quick buck. They add zero to the community and will withdraw all earnings. Feel another post coming here....lol.

Anyways thanks for pointing out how the leagues can show your real efforts. Going to need to start using that as a suggestion for helping people realize if they are actually engaging or not. Wish the post had a link showing more of the standing so more people could see how they actually stacked up.

The marketing, if there really is any, has not been the best. I will agree. Putting the emphasis on getting paid for posting as opposed to maybe earning STEEM or considering it a way to invest without needing to buy in. I suppose they wouldn't have people potentially showing up in droves, but at least it would be truer to what Steemit is than the out and out lie of it being a glorified ATM and having people think that the proper thing to do is immediately cash out, and always cash out.

I've heard there are plenty of users who are behind these kinds of false advertisements, so It's not necessarily Steemit Inc's fault in this case, but still, there really should be a better way to get the word out and then on the other end, people should realize that when something is too good to be true, it usually is.

Kind of ironic that Nigeria might be a target for this when it's the Nigerian prince that frequently shows up as the sender of the email wanting bank account information so he can wire his money to you so it can be saved from some imminent danger, then pay you a generous fee for doing all this for him. :)

I don't blame steemit for the bad advertising practices. What I don't get about those doing this is why? If you were gaining a referral fee or some sort of a multi level deal where you earned from the rewards of others then I would get it. But to bring people here under false expectations means you are setting them up to fail and then they will tell others of their negative experience.

You mean the Price didn't only send that email to me...crap how much money does he have to give away?

It doesn't make sense to me, I know that. But that's just it. My wife is originally from Mexico. She has relatives who also live in the U.S., and they're constantly telling they're family members back home that they're doing this and that and they've done all these things and how wonderful it all is, as if all you had to do is show up and it's all just laid out for you. The streets paved with gold thing.

Well, in great measure, all of that is a lie, or if not, a pretty big exaggeration of their actual situations. So, maybe it's similar to that? Or maybe the folk selling the illusion are hoping that people will come in and follow them? I don't know. If there's nothing to be gained by false advertising, then why not tell the truth. Definitely a head scratcher. :)

Interesting about how they promote the US to relative back home. Now for most this is a land of much more opportunity. So while they do need to work to get all the things they want when they arrive at least there are more options for making that happen. For how much lower income people like to complain about how little they earn and it's not enough to support a family on they don't even have a clue what being a low income earning in most countries looks like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65