Pay It Forward Entry - Week 24steemCreated with Sketch.

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

This is my submission for the Pay it Forward Curation Contest run by @thedarkhorse and @pifc.

This is also my first week actually participating in the contest as an entrant, although I have had the honor of being an nominee! I love the spirit of the contest, because it's such a great way to "trickle down" some of the love you get and "pay it forward!" Anyhow, for my first round of submissions, I picked two gentlemen who I have followed since nearly the beginning of their time on Steemit. They both consistently put out quality content and have excellent engagement with others.

Political Philosopher


Those of you who enjoy thoughtful and well-researched commentary on the origins of modern political thought will find a lot to love at this blog. But beyond the politics, @yintercept (Rep 46) has a fascinating way of writing as a kind of passive observer of his own life. I thoroughly enjoy his anecdotes. He has a soft spot for architectural photography, and you'll regularly find pictures of interesting buildings and cityscapes on his blog.

He just posted this the other day, and I have to say I would recommend it to just about anybody. Especially anyone who lives in the United States. I don't want to give too much context away, because it will ruin what I think is one of the most jaw-dropping endings I have ever seen on a Steemit post. So go have a look!

Beyond that, @yintercept always posts lengthy and thoughtful replies to comments on his work, and he also stops by my own posts on a regular basis to add his unique perspective on life to the questions I raise. He is one of my most valued followers, and I think he deserves a much wider audience.

Jiu-Jitsu and Disc Golf, Anyone?


For someone who doesn't post very frequently to Steemit, @disc-jitsu87 (Rep 39) has the perfect type of blog: laser focused on the two topics he is most interested about. And you want to know the truth? I'm really not all that interested in Jiu-Jitsu or Frisbee Golf, but I still faithfully follow him. Why? Because I enjoy reading his work. He's a great writer, and beyond that, the true passion he has for these topics oozes out in each post. I'm sure you have all read things written by someone who truly loves the subject they are writing about -- it makes a huge difference and pulls you in even if you're not interested in the subject itself.

Beyond that, he's another faithful and valued follower of mine who is always stopping by to say hey and offer his own thoughts and feedback on the things I care about. His niche blog is not for everyone, but then again, maybe it is, because good writing by a passionate author is for everyone, right? So go check out his latest post for a recap of a recent practice as he gears up for competition season this fall.

text04.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189, Dividers By @jaynie

Sort:  

Just a quick note to let you know I have visited and supported both of you features.
Hope you do more entries, these were great.

Thank you! Greatly appreciate the support for all three of us!

Will definitely be doing more of these in the future!

Thank you for the kind mention. I personally like stories where people write their perspective of an event and the readers have to figure out what really happened.

A few hours later on the same day I went into the sporting goods store in Salmon, Idaho. Let's just say It was a surreal day.

You have a great way of story telling, and I have a feeling you have many more in your head.

Some bloggers here like to put themselves on a “release schedule” for different kinds of posts. If you started doing one or two stories a week, I think you’d quickly build a following!

Thanks for the shout out, @dollarsandsense! You're right though, I should post more frequently. I'm glad to see you really taking off in the community though. Keep up the good work, sir!

Of course! Like I said, I like your posting style, it’s suited to your content. But nothing says you have to be stuck with those topics 🙂

That #comedyopenmic contest is always a great place for some exposure and upvotes. Basically guaranteed $1-2 with an official entry (assuming it’s more than a meme).

I should really give it a shot. I worked as a waiter in a comedy club for 4 years during college. I got stories!

Hi @dollarsandsense! I created this account to help bring disc golfers together. Even though you are not a DISC golfer (these are not frisbees ;) ) We still support your efforts to bring a disc golfer to Steem's attention, and we appreciate it!

Steem on!

Awesome! That’s great you have a community set up!

And apologies on the terminology 😁 I stand corrected

You have my support & upvote. I like the idea of Pay It Forward

Thanks! Be sure to check out the contest organized by @pifc. Anyone can submit an entry 🙂

Congratulations @dollarsandsense! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A couple of interesting choices, specially the first.

Leaving tips for mediocre and bad service? Only in America. Over here, waiters and waitresses have to make an effort to get a tip. If they don't, they can forget about any possible tip.

Yep, it’s a cultural thing. I will only leave a poor or no tip if the server was absolutely rude and nasty to me. Even if they are bad at their job, I will still leave at least 10%. See my other reply for why.

I have visited and supported both of your featured authors. Good choices you have there.

By the way, this is your first entry to the pifc right? If so, welcome! See your entries again in the coming weeks... :)

Thanks so much! And yes, I will have to return again, there are a few other deserving bloggers out there who I’d like to feature.

It's good to know that.

Hello @dollarsandsense 😉 what a great picks ☺ I thought that something like the first featured blogger post only happened in my country .. that's weird and unpleasant. And the second blogger..whoa, juijitsu is really something worth to read. Thank you and good luck with the contest😉

So glad you enjoyed! Thanks for the support for all three of us!

Great entry! I've supported both of your bloggers.
Oh, I think you accidentally featured the first one's photo for the second blogger as well...

Yikes you’re right! Thank you so much for pointing that out! And thanks for supporting two great Steemians 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36