Geez, these passwords are kind of a problem..

in #password7 years ago

I just received the approval email for my account, and used the random password generator, and holy cow, the passwords are like 45 characters with caps and lower case letters, and numbers, and there's no option to enter my own. I get it, its for security, but when I went to enter the password on my laptop to sign in, I entered it wrong at least five times, and that's a lot to go through with hundred digit passwords. On top of it, there's not even an option to be able to see the password as you enter it, so I had no clue where I was messing up. It really doesn't have to be this difficult :(

Sort:  

you should safe your password in a password-manager, so you just have to copy and past it. But please make sure you dont (never ever !) use your owner-key for login.

Yeah, password managers are pretty essential these days for reasonable security. I like KeePass: https://keepass.info/

Why is using the owner key so dangerous? And how do I even get access to my private owner key? I don't seem to have the option to reveal the private owner key. Or should I just ignore my owner key and just log in with the active key/password?

The owner key is not necessary, so it is an unnecessary security risk. It should only be used to restore your account. Best you secure it offline.
For normal login use to your private posting key. If you want to carry out a transaction in your wallet, you need your active-key

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54