Wild Tip: Time to Save Seeds

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Fall is here and it's a great time to save seeds before your garden goes to "bed" for the year. Recently my son and I had a blast collecting seeds from our climbing green beans and from our scarlet runner beans.

Despite only being 2 and half years old my son is already great at opening the bean pods and separating the seeds into 2 different bowls.

Next year I will have a kido garden for him and my daughter (who is only 4 months old) to grow their own veggies.

My son loves scarlet runner beans and really wants to grow them in the kido garden.

I love teaching my kids how to grow their own food and then save their own seeds.

Saving seeds from your garden provides several advantages. Here are 3 of them.

  1. Saves you money.
  2. Allows your vegetables to become adapted to your gardens unique conditions.
  3. Creates a legacy that can be passed down to family and your community.

I'm still learning how to save my own seeds but beans and peas are very easy and great ones to start with.

I have saved my climbing beans at the end of 3 different summers. Even in this short time the beans have taken on their own traits.

I'm excited to see how my other vegetables change over time.

Do you save your own seeds? Please leave an answer in the comments below.

Want to learn more? Check out this blog post on why saving seeds is a great idea!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Loving the legacy you give your son just so much!! And the idea that seeds evolve to suit our own unique growing conditions. I do hope you are taking comparitive photo season by season for the epic steem post about seed saving in 5 years time! :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Hehe, thank you! I should take some pictures though I'm also doing a lot to improve the soils in my garden so it could be hard to know if the beans adjust to the soil or if the soil just gets a lot better. I'm adding a bunch of leaf mould, some mushroom spawn, and worm castings/juice (from my own worm bin) plus a bunch of chop-and-drop material from the garden. I'm hoping this all helps to build soil and change my poor grey soil into rich dark soil :)

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

I especially love saving and separating beans!
What do you mean they have taken on their own traits? Like what?
Years ago I planted pinto beans in the garden and my harvest yielded small, round white beans to my surprise. But I've still been planting the descendents year after year, anticipating a another color change but none yet

Mine are producing much earlier then they used to. This is the biggest change I have noticed but they also seem to be good at germinating and growing in fairly poor soil. Though that might have always been there. Thanks for the comment and sharing your experience!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

@wildhomesteading It is wonderful that you can teach your little ones how to select the seeds, because it sure makes it like a game, but at the same time it learns, it becomes expert in these trades and it offers to you a good time of joy and satisfaction.

Thank you! Yeah, my son really loved helping to collect the seeds. He was not happy when I had to go in for a few minutes to help get dinner ready. He really enjoyed sitting there with me working on the seeds as a "super team"! ;) Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86