The Runner

in #partiko6 years ago

Due to popular demand...

Part 2 to The Emergency

The time ticks by while David is in surgery. Carrie sits in the emergency room and waits for someone to return with news on David's status. Why are they taking so long? She shifts in the hard chair. The words "I made a mistake," run through her mind.

What did he mean? The unexplained absences in the past months, the debt and uncertainty. His evasive answers all return to haunt her thoughts. She remembers the long phone calls. David's abrupt answers when she asked where he'd been now cause her to feel a looming dread.

Her phone rings. No one knows she's here. She gets up to leave the emergency room to take the call.

"Where is David?" a man asks.

"Who are you?" Carrie asks.

"He's a dead man," the man states.

Carrie freezes as she stands in the doorway of the hospital looking out into the empty parking lot. Her hand clutches the phone. She looks back into the emergency room. A security officer sits at a desk chatting with a short companion. He's laughing and drinking coffee from a white styrofoam cup.

"Leave us alone," she says.

"It's too late for that, Carrie," he says.

The line goes dead.

She returns to the emergency room. The phone is still lit.

A nurse enters the room and walks to her side. "He is stable," the nurse assures her.
They will move him after recovery to room 204."

Carrie picks up her jacket and purse and follows the nurse to a room filled with sounds of life support equipment. David is bandaged and hooked to life support machines. The dim light hides his handsome features. He looks quiet and vulnerable. She sits near the hospital bed and takes his unbandaged hand.

"David?" she whispers.

His eyes flutter open. His face is pale.

"Tell me who did this."

He groans and turns his face.

"What do you have to tell me?"

"I'm sorry, Carrie.You need to go."

"I won't leave you, David."

"The money, Carrie. It's enough to get away. It's in the basement. Leave now, before they find it."

"David, what are you saying?"

"They won't stop until they get it," he said, "save yourself."

"I won't leave you."

He struggles to sit up. "'I sold out," he whispers, "I can't let you suffer anymore. I couldn't do it anymore. Get out. I've been running guns for them, but I got scared."

"I'll call the police!" she exclaims.

"Carrie, it's the police who hired me."

He falls back onto the pillows and grasps her hand.

"Why. David? Why did you do this?"

My business is in trouble! They promised to fund me if I ran some guns."

Carrie stands, uncertain,"I can't believe you made such a horrible mistake," she cries.

"Take the money, Carrie, I'll find you."

"No, David, we need to come clean!"

The sharp knock on the door startles them both.

"Miss Radcliffe, I'm Sargent Martin, can I have a word with you?"

David gripped her hand with fierce strength shaking his head left and right.

Carrie stands with resolve and walks to the door.

SRC

This is a freewrite from @mariannewest using today's prompt phone
Find new daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

No! No! No!!!!!

Not again! This cliffhanging is killing me! Superb, Janelle! @wandrnrose7

I have been pulled in from the very beginning and thank you for linking Part1 for those that may have missed it!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thank so much for the support and the tip 🤗. I'm not sure what will come next. 😮

Yikes!!!! You better get cracking!! I am in a need to know mode now! :)

Here's what surfaced from "ceiling", I hope it is interesting lol
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wandrnrose7/the-questioning-tdsgbgut

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh... I wonder what will happen next...

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 513 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: ceiling.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Look at you!! Now, we have to wait for tomorrow...

🤗 thanks @mariannewest. It's one of those things where you think, hmmm can I keep this one moving lol

Posted using Partiko Android

you certainly ended with a cliff hanger. Is he a good cop or a bad cop? What is she going to do...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

🎁 Hi @wandrnrose7! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Oh! To Be Irish And Dream! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

There needs to be a part three!!!

Not cool!! LOL...

I see this as, one of those awesome book lines, that ends up being a ...
... say it with me:

MOVIE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84