The Way Things Used To Be

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

A Sunday afternoon reflection on the simpler times. Sunday’s I’m usually blessed enough to be a lazy ass and stay home. This is my time to make a real breakfast and just enjoy my coffee. I’m sparing y’all the pictures of the breakfast I was too lazy to take pictures of. Suffice it to say it was the bomb 💣!

I was just sitting here going through old pictures and found this gem on my iPad. Set in the Redwood Valley of California in mid July of 2016, I can be seen bathed in sunlight and plucking the banjo. Sipping on a can of enlightenmint Yerba mate and smoking copious amounts of ganja and it’s extracts I can tell you I had reduced life to its most simplest terms.

I’m not at all saying these were better times, just different. I lived alone in a camper on a property working for a percentage of a cannabis garden. I’m good at growing stuff, especially cannabis, as long as my farm work was tended to I could spend my afternoons like this with my Tennessee brethren, and I often did. I miss these days and these people. Clark seated in the middle is still like a brother to me and even flew out to Asia to be at my wedding last year. Greg on the left was my best friend and closest comrade still alive in California. He hasn’t passed away like many of our tribe but he holds a grudge against me and we haven’t spoken since before I left over two years ago.

Greg and the grudge is why I stopped on this picture and decided to write a bit on it. It’s curious to me how pride and ego can destroy bonds. I didn’t sever the ties and have done all I can to mend fences to no avail. I’m not giving up though and will make another plea to Greg’s wife to have him communicate something to me later this evening.

Maybe he is ready to see that sometimes brothers have to give each other tough love or even walk away from people that are doing the same addictive things that have taken so many of our people from this world.

Do you have grudges ? Is that healthy ? Can you do anything about it ? I suggest you try because you truly never know if tomorrow you might not get the chance...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

There is no better time than old-good days with our buddies @skramatters :)

I was just sitting here going through old pictures and found this gem on my iPad.

It surely made your day to find such a gem.

I lived alone in a camper on a property working for a percentage of a cannabis garden.

WHAT A LIVE! :D

Thx for sharing your positive story and mood :)
Cheers, Piotr

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @skramatters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Cool insight into your past life. I do see some baseball shoulders there. As for grudges, I'd say that I've never really had any until my Dad situation, but that's a unique situation. Maybe you could write/perform a song for him to have his wife show him to spark some good memories and snap him out of it.

That's actually a very good idea, I found a rough recording of us all playing with a mutual friend that lost his battle to cancer and this was the last time we all played together. Id hate to feel like I'm using his passing to prove something but it would convey a powerful message that we've been through too much to let something silly ruin our friendship..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, I held a couple of grudges but luckily they all got resolved. It all depends on the reason for the grudge I guess, and you ve got ask yourself if you actually understand why the person got so upset that forgiveness is out of the question.
Two people I had a grudge on, just kept telling me that I’m wrong to feel that etc etc and that didn’t help me to forgive them for their actions. Pride also played a role on both sides.

I wouldn’t go into the “health” of holding a grudge, because that can be stressful. On the other hand, in my case, it helped me and those involved to grow somewhat.

Hope you’ll find a way to communicate with your mate :)

Thanks and I'm glad you resolved your grudges and all parties grew from the experience..

I'll be persistent and annoying with my grudge keeper. He is a big damn baby 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

haha well treating him as a big baby might not help resolve it 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22