the green war at my doorstep

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

300B6FDF-74B8-4000-AF9A-82006AE8E528.jpeg

A former roommate told me that the first hummingbird that she ever saw was outside her window from the garden I have at my doorstep. It’s been a cheerful area where I left baby plants out for my neighbors. My porch garden after 15 years of thriving and cheering the area is now under threat. I received a text from my building manager that if I don’t get rid of the 4 potted plants outside my door, they will haul it to the trash. Mind you, I already dragged a ficus across my living room to place in my patio.

I’m being encouraged to not have any plants whatsoever and that their tolerance of me having plants is at an impasse. I’ve seen many building managers come and go and this one, though nice, is the only one to have requested that I be rid of plants.

I feel ill over this. I’m so upset, I can’t eat. Friends have chimed in with their supportive words. I wrote the building manager for a middle ground to meet where we both can be happy. While many have fur babies, I have my green babies. I have a green thumb. I’m good at taking care of plants and have always tended a garden since I was a child and it pains me to think of passing my babies to others let alone the trash.

People have mentioned that the area is ugly and desolate without the plants. All the cheer had left. How can anyone be anti plants? Isn’t it nice to pass a bunch of flowers? The paint has dried and I put the plants back minus 2 planters. They all have trays. The guy who repainted and waterproofed the area said the plants should be fine.

“But the paint will get wet and water stained” when I water my plants is what the building manager wrote me. I can’t get my head around their argument and threats. I’ve taken care of these plants longer than she has taken care of her dog.

I’m so sad.

Fight for the plants, my friends say. I’m fighting for the flowers, the hummingbirds, butterflies, and visiting bees that has brought me and others much joy.

JNET

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Hi @jnetsworld,,

I really hope you can keep these plants. It's unbelievable what bothers some people. Do not give up!

I just got on this tipu thing. I hope this will give your post a nice vote. You are my test case to see if I do it right, so we shall see.

@tipu curate

Thank you for the kind words. The plants still stand as of today. I appreciate the love and good vibes. Hopefully all the kind energy will create a protective field and call the green war off 🦋

J

Posted using Partiko iOS

Removing the plants will cause CO2 levels to rise in the area. The whole building could be under water within weeks from rising sea levels...Greta will die. Doesn't he understand this? !tip

Thx for the pro-plants vibe and the tip. Of all the things to fight and create misery over; plants. As of today, they still stand, but I feel ill thinking they won’t be there when I get home. Seriously, the world is better with gardens. Maybe people are nutty because they are so detached from plants and nature. Keeping a walkway’s paint pristine and seeing plants as a menace....what a world. Thx for the good vibes.

J

Posted using Partiko iOS

🎁 Hi @jnetsworld! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @kunschj!

@kunschj wrote lately about: Peace? ~ A Monomad Post Feel free to follow @kunschj if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78