What in the hell happened?

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

A lot of stuff has happened to me in the last three to four months. But why did I stop posting?.

Lack of inspiration?, lack of time?, lack of perspective?, lack of flow?, all of that and more I believe. In short words, I had nothing to say.

In any case, I didn't stop creating. I shot a lot of video, made a lot of photos, created a fair amount of music I am happy with, but I just didn't post anything to the Steem blockchain or almost any other social network besides Instagram (I guess because of the immediacy of it and ease of use).

I just couldn't be arsed to put every day a half-assed piece of content, in order to keep consistent in frequency but not in critical value / quality. I was not very happy with the quality of the posts I was making. So I stopped completely. Stepped back and started observing. I kept actively upvoting what I considered quality posts from other users. I even commented from time to time. But what I did a lot was observation.

In my observations I found that there are just a very few steemians creating posts that aren't actual garbage. So, those authors you will always find on your feed after being resteemed by yours truly. I am always resteeming what I consider quality worth your time.

Now, the purpose of this post was not to give you excuses about why I haven't posted in over two months, but to break the habit of not posting. To start a new, healthier posting habit, while keeping in check the quality of the output, setting high standards on the factors that (to me) define a quality piece of content. A piece of content that would provide critical value to you, mostly but not only in the form of entertainment. Specifically photography, music and creative vlogging with the occasional informative posts.

The only rule I'll set for this new posting habit is to always excel in what I consider to be quality and, as @joythewanderer said, it must contain critical value for you (yes you).

For now I leave you with a small selection of photographs taken with my smartphone and DSLR since the start of 2019.

Please leave me a comment!. I always appreciate those more than blind upvotes.

Cheers

@greencross

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I was and am following you, but I do not think I know your posts @greencross.

I comment widely on STEEM, and I am always amazed to find others have trouble finding good content here. I use

https://www.becquerel.io/ to see curied posts
@tufflepig daily reports to find undervauled posts
@c-cubed to see what @c-squared liked
@qurator daily spotlight posts
@socalsteemit for Southern California
#travelfeed
@pifc for new authors.

This is just a sample based on me and my likes. I never can get to all I want to on any given day.

There are so many communities here trying to help their members get visibility. for me there is no lack of good content on STEEM. The lack is that this good content does not get votes or interaction. Hopefully some of these places appeal to you, or if not you can find others. @truffepig is probably the best place on the list to find hidden gems.

As far as posting - it's blogging with a short life span, so I kind of go with the flow. Right now @pennsif is creating a contest listing. Maybe posting into some of those would get you going again.

https://steemit.com/contest/@pennsif/sos-contests-roundup-21-february-2019-spread-the-news-and-win-game-tokens

I post to a lot of contests to help out the creator so they get entries. I know many of those contests take photography, so you would definitely fit in.

Welcome back. We need all the people here we can get.

Thanks so much for the invaluable information @fitinfun i appreciate it. Will make use of the resources from now on.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's great! Have fun finding great posts :)

thank youuuuuu :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

I need to get a better camera. Those shots look fantastic. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

hey thanks a lot @gooddream!

which camera do you have?

I shot most of these with a Huawei P8. The DSLR was only used for the photo with the bird on the tree.

Smartphones nowadays are really great cameras I think.

cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah, i am getting a new phone next week. my camera phone wasn't good when it was new but now it is 3 years old (might be 4)

oh the new huawei mate has a sick camera!

Posted using Partiko Android

there is no rule which demand or force you to writing each day a quality post deserving for +30$ upvote, it is your own expectation about this social media. It can be used at the same level as instragram, but you will just reach the other audience. Sometimes I am also too busy to write anything, sometimes I have internet problems but I also feel hunger for writing. It's similar to my other passions or hobbies from the past, pauses only made my hungry for more action :) Hope that it will be the same with you and we will see you here more often. If you don't want to post your own articles, you can always actively participate in the discussion in the comment section. It is also a part of the game, don't forget about it ;-)

totally agree @cubapl enough said. Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

I am glad to see You back uploading :D Let's keep them coming. awesome selection of photos man :D

thanks a lot @sergiomendes :)

Yeah it feels good to be back, you are a legend,you never stop. Respect!

Posted using Partiko Android

unfortunately that might be about to change. but let's see how it will be :D Only the next weeks will tell :D

may it all be in honour of the objective value!

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent photos, Amigo! Appreciate your perspective.

(I’ve been mostly silent as well... likely bc life came up and kicked my @$$ into the mud, then picked it up, slapped me in the face with it... then... mic-dropped it. Luckily, I was able to pick it up and clean it off a bit... lol)

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahahaha wow I swear i
I could picture the struggle with life like a movie in my head while reading your comment @bimjer, picturesque would be the adjective!. Nice to know you're alive and kicking. Always see your instagram coffee runs. Cheers buddy

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome back bro. Truly missed you.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks a lot my dear friend! I didn't have a chance to miss you since I am always watching your, already awesome but now supercharged, vlog episodes @bobaphet

Take care brother! see you around!

Posted using Partiko Android

I understand that mindset, I took a break as well and came back with a more calculated mission. Thanks for sharing some of your photography. I really like your black and whites, and damn it looks cold where you are.

thanks a lot for stopping by brother!, mew action plan, yeah!. BTW I've been following your Anarchapulco adventures. Too bad I couldn't make it this year. Looks like fun @illucifer

cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope you can make it to Anarchadelphia in PHILLY!

Posted using Partiko iOS

that would be interesting!

Posted using Partiko Android

Much the same for me. I have just spent some time evaluating my posting and my why.

Posted using Partiko iOS

it's the sign of times!.Time to step up our game @captainbob. Glad to know you are fine bud.

Hello @greencross, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thank you @creativecrypto you rock, I am a fan of both you and @sndbox

cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42