The Sweet Melody from playing guitar made all the pains go away .

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/gowealth-the-sweet-melody-from-playing--guitar-made-all-the-pains-go-away-ssbsl3mf-1536242320630.png

Today I want to share a personal experience I had while I was learning how to play guitar and maybe it can help someone who may be at the point of given up in his or her Journey.

I picked up My guitar in the year 2010. Then I decided I was going to learn it without a mentor. That I can say, was one of the toughest endeavours I have embarked upon.

When I bought my first guitar,
I spent ours online browsing about chords and watching online videos.

   "Make out substantial amount of time for planning"

For those that have not played guitar. Reading guitar charts for chords is like reading the these words I am writing in reverse. And also before you could make sense of it, You have to mentally invert the chart before you can apply it.

     "Learn to see things from an uncomfortable different perspective".

But that wasn't the most revealing part of it. It was training my fingers to be able to adapt and develop muscle memories needed.
I started out with looking at the fretboard-the long arm of guitar- each time I wanted to place my finger on the strings .
It was painful to get hold of it, and at that time the sound it produces when struck was not encouraging in any way. So I have to get comfortable with the miserable sound because my fingers needed time to adjust to it.

  "Ignore the present discomfort to  achieve your goal"

Later on when my fingers have adjusted to the basic chords, I noticed that I still have to look at the fretboard for me to mentally gauge where to place my finger while playing.

Then for me, it was a day time routine exercise. On one faithfull night, I woke up and I was not feeling sleepy. My guitar was lying beside me in the dark. I picked up my guitar and I decided to play it in the dark. I realized that I was able to place my fingers at the right places and at the right time.

  "loose sight of your doubts and perceived obstacle"

So the next day, I decided that I am going to play it with my eyes closed, and that was exactly what I did. The result was amazing. I played it with ease and the sound of the melody made me loose sight of the pain I was going through.

Thanks for going through this short writeup. Please leave honest revealing comment.

Regards

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @gowealth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gowealth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @gowealth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @gowealth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84