BABY STROLLER - A FIFTY WORD SHORT STORYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Thank you @jayna for your 50 Word Challenge.

Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

Mom was in the common room at the nursing home. She greeted me with “I’m glad you’re here. I need to buy my second grandchild a new stroller.”

“Who is your second grandchild?”

D.J., your son.

Mom, he’s an adult now.

That’s why he needs a new and bigger stroller!

This is based on an actual conversation I had with my Mom. My Mom has Parkinson’s and Parkinson’s Dementia, we recently had to put her in a nursing home. Parkinson’s Dementia differs from Alzheimer’s in that the memories aren’t gone they are just difficult to access. We have found that with certain prompts her memories become easier for her to access.

Throughout the progression of the disease my Mom’s sense of humor has always shined through. It was clear she forgot D.J.’s age, but once she was able to recall it, she didn’t miss a beat and provided a valid reason why he needed a new stroller.

I think this YouTube video explains exactly what she was planning to buy for D.J.!

Video source

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Great story. Video was just the perfect piece to end it. Matteo will surely be thrilled to the max pushing his granddaddy around in it.

Glad to know your mom still has her sense of humor. You must have picked it up from her.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I wonder who would enjoy it more you as the rider or Matteo. I think you both should ride in it and have one of your daughters push you two around.

Humor has always played an important role in our family. We can always find something to laugh about. We would rather laugh than cry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now why didn't I think of that? Definitely both Matteo and I will be extremely delighted to have us pushed around on this stroller ha ha ha. I can just imagine you as a kid. The things you must have concocted and thought about. Must have been a real roller coaster ride. I can't help but think about the book To Kill a Mockingbird. You could have been Scout!

Thank you for the Christmas present Miss Maggie. I am so touched by it. That was a class act from a classy lady.

May you find joy and peace this Christmas season. God bless you and your family always. Merry merry Christmas to you!

window-2584855_1280.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Lol, I was a tomboy and full of questions just like Scout. I think Scout would have seen the delight in riding in a giant stroller!

As for the present, your welcome. It was my pleasure.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is really a charming story, @emergehealthier. And thank you for sharing the backstory about your family, and your mom's condition. That makes the story even more heart-warming. I'm glad to hear that she maintains her sense of humor, in spite of everything!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @emergehealthier!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.564 which ranks you at #15458 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 72 places in the last three days (old rank 15530).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #92.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That's a very sweet story.

My kids both never cared for the stroller much. If only I had tested out the adult size first ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81