Paris Transportation

in #paris7 years ago

Transportation. Yes, we will need that to get around. I don’t want to rent a car. Who would want to drive in European traffic?
Besides... They drive on the wrong side of the street and everything. lol

In my last visit, I found out that they do have Uber and that will be our go-to if all else fails. By “all else” I’m referring to walking or the Metro. So the Metro is a vast expanse of interconnecting tunnels and trains that will be an experience in itself to navigate, but I like challenges. The thing is that we need to get tickets for the metro.

My industrious wife told me that I could simply Google it, so I did. (What did we ever do before Google? The all-seeing Google. I wonder if in the not-too-far-future if Google will become the Big Brother in some Orwellian society but because we are so dependent on it society doesn’t care and simply gives up our few remaining freedoms so we can enjoy its comforts.) Just a thought.

In any case, I did Google it and did find out some interesting information. Apparently, there are two different passes one can buy. The Navigo Découverte, and the Paris Visite. I found plenty of sites talking about the difference but here is what I’ve found out.

The Navigo Découverte is a weekly pass that begins on Monday and ends on Sunday. (Duh, did I even have to say that? I did it anyway because that’s how the different websites describe it. So there you have it.) So it's a weekly pass, but since we will be arriving Wednesday and leaving this coming Tuesday we will have 2 days without the pass. So in comes the other one, Paris Visite.

As the name implies, the Visite pass is for visitors. Lol, of course, no one traveling somewhere wants to be identified as “that tourist guy” even though you stick out like a sore thumb. But we may have to swallow our pride and get a few Visite passes. The Visite is more expensive but allows for more flexibility since it offered transportation for 1, 2, 3 or 5 consecutive days. Oh, and it has the added benefit that it can be purchased online. while the Navigo Découverte requires an in-person purchase, and a photo and an additional fee to purchase the initial card.

Hmmmm no-brainer.....We’ll go with the Navigo Découverte until Sunday and buy a 2-day Visite pass for the remainder of the time.

I have to say... I am getting excited about the trip. What an adventure.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabrielgrimes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72