You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Disciplining Children -- Questioning the Norm!

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

" It is said, and commonly accepted, that disciplining children teaches them to make good choices, to manage their emotions, teaches them skills to become responsible adults, helps them manage anxiety, and to become honest, kind and sharing people."

I always have these thoughts;
For instance;
Good choices according to who?
Most people say that the goal of discipline is to let them make good choices etc. but if I look at it from the outside mostly the actual goal is obedience not the making of good choices.

This is culture, making obedient slaves, later in live it's obedience to the law, the main purpose of the law is obedience to the masters/system/police and whomever wants to dominate, and not the stated goal in the law.

I believe if you teach your children by example or just let them experience natural consequences to their action as much as possible they learn the most.

But I may not speak about what I think, they say, cause I don't have experience cause I don't have children, mostly I tell them that I have the experience of having been a child and that that experience is one of the biggest reasons that I don't have children.

Sort:  

Wise words @wordsword. "Good choices according to who?" EXACTLY!!! When we realize most every thought we have ever had is not our own, we realize the vastness of what we believe is BS. Obedient people indeed make great slaves. We live in a very, very, unbelievably indoctrinated and sick society, and the only way out, as I see it, is to begin right now with ourselves and let it flow over to our children. Experimentation will bring natural consequences, we need not pretend contrived situations are necessary for responsible living.

With awareness, your experience as a child is the best experience for how to honor a child. To me it matters not whether you have children, as the memory and knowing how it feels is more than enough. Another great man I know said those same words. Profound words, in and of themselves.

Thank you for your comment @wordsword. I am truly grateful to explore these important issues with you.

Thank you for your comment I was reading through the other comments and there you have the spare the rod...... thing again. I read you wanted to write another post about that.

Well there is another verse in the bible that gives them a fantastic justification for chastising and killing their children. I had written a bit about it in this comment but I removed it.
Because I get really sick to my stumac about it. And sad, angry and cynical in what I wright.

Maybe you can handle it in a more calm way.

Do you know or want to know which verse it is?

Edit ; I read you comment again and see you wanted to mention it in this post...not write another post about it , sorry for the misunderstanding.

It would be interesting to know what verse it is. I have heard many spare the rod ... excuses over my lifetime. I cannot pretend to know the bible, so am not about to debate the meanings and justifications as presented therein. I just go with my heart and feel strongly that honoring their divinity is the only honorable thing to do, no matter what words have been written. May we all tune into their blessing!

Deuteronomy 21:18-21
Let's hope they remember John 8:7
I'm not a christian anymore but somehow I remember a lot of things from the bible.

They call it the doctrine for a reason!

I remember very little from my religion days--gratefully--other than the trauma that set me free. I have heard there are several verses that suggest things likes the Deuteronomy verse. I give no heed to those words. Religion is a means to control the people, inciting hatred and wars, while preaching love and the word of "God". When we all come to know a true loving god, then we will remember unconditional love...religion will be a thing of the past, and there will be hope for the reunion of mankind.

Thanks for the input @wordsword. I appreciate the exchange!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44