You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My experience with not vaccinating my child

in #parenting7 years ago

I support your decision as a mother to make this choice, weigh the risks and make your best choice. As mothers we have to do that all of the time.

My son was born with a heart defect and had open heart surgery at 3 days old. (I hadn't started questioning Dr's yet) Well after he finally got out of the hospital, they wanted to start vaccinations. He had a terrible reaction and ended up back in the hospital.

Although I did choose a few vaccinations that had been around for many years with low risk. I was able to work with my physician and select the vaccinations that protected against the worst diseases with min. risks.

It was a decision that no government, no school and no other culture deserved a "Say" in. I am so happy in those days, I could make the decision, and the dr. could give his advice without fear of "consequences".

Not all vaccinations are the same, not all immune systems are the same and most importantly not all diseases are the same. My kids are grown, but I can not imagine living through the pressure that is put on people now.

People who throw around crazy stats about how many lives are at risk. Seem to forget many of us grew up and had chicken pox, mumps, measles, and all of our siblings did also, and most of the school. We survived and I don't know anyone who had life-long impacts. (I have a tiny scar on my forehead from a chicken pox scab)

Women who want to chant about their medical rights should be very cautious on this topic.

Anyway, I just wanted to offer my support in this difficult decision, but one you have an absolute right to make. IMO.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your reply. It's definitely hard being a parent, well I'm finding all the things I was warned about easy, but these big decisions are tough. Even though we've decided not to vaccinate I'm still concerned that it might not be what's best.

Also, I find feeding her is stressful because she's so tiny, I don't want to feed her anything that may upset her tiny wee organs (e.g. Something that's been sprayed with pesticides) and can do her damage.

There's just so much information out there and I'm second guessing myself!
However, I feel confident for now that we've got this decision right.

It must've been terribly scary having your 3 day old baby in surgery and then just as bad having him back in hospital due to an allergic reaction. My sister spent time in hospital after an allergic reaction too so that's also in the back of my mind that something in my genes may have made my girl allergic too. I don't know if I am since I'm not vaccinated either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64