You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Person's A Person, No Matter How Small! -- Children Should be Seen AND Heard!

in #parenting7 years ago

Lovely post.
Sadly people still use violence to coerce children into "acceptable" behaviour.
It never worked and it never will.
Children learn by example and if you act poorly towards them they will sadly pay it forward.
I see the most awful parenting these days bordering on neglect that sadly is ignored. I told a story to another Steemian the other day as I had been out to the bakery and saw something that was dreadful.
A mother was with a young child that was 2-3 years old. The kid had a full size can of full fat coke and a chocolate bar and she was buying him a doughnut.
He doesn't stand a chance.
Sorry it's not a very uplifting story ad I guess slightly off subject but parenting like that needs to be addressed.
@tremendospercy

Sort:  

Every time I go out to a store I see someone disrespecting and in my opinion abusing their child emotionally, and often health-wise as well.
It's really sad how western society, especially American, basically values kids as investments or pets rather than another person who has their own thoughts, feelings, desires, and emotions/needs.

Agreed, it's no different here in Britain.
Very sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68481.33
ETH 2722.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75