3 Phrases I Hope My Children Tell Me in 20 Years.

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

I am a blessed man.

I have a beautiful, compassionate wife who cares for me more than I deserve. I am blessed by 5 kiddos who love me deeply. But I choose not to be complacent with the blessings of today. I strive for a better future with my wife and children.

A lot of times we forget that the future requires an investment of time and effort. We forget that how we labor today impacts the life we desire to live tomorrow. As a father and a husband, I have an incredible responsibility to lead my family and provide for them (emotionally, physically, and spiritually).

In 20 years, I hope that all of my children can willingly and readily tell me the following 3 phases as proof the life I live today made their future better.

people-2600767_1280.jpg

I Love You.

Our house is full of people and at times things seem utterly chaotic. My wife and I are blessed to be the parents of 5 children, ages 10 and under. There is rarely a silent moment in our home. But in all of the noise, I often hear "Daddy, I love you!"

That phrase melts my heart! And honestly, I want to hear those words come out of the mouths of my children in 20 years.

I don't want adulthood to change the way we express our love for each other. I don't want their acquisition of knowledge and life experience to jade their views of love.

As a father, I want to love them deeply today so that I can hear "Daddy, I love you!" in 20 years, and 30 years, and for the rest of my life.

I want to model committed, sacred love with my wife so that my kids can see how love should be lived out in their future lives.

I Trust You.

Trust is vital to any relationship, whether with spouse, family, or friends. The same is true with our children.

I desire that my kids trust what I say because my life is proof that I seek good things for their behalf (even when it hurts) and that I am true to my word. I hope to earn my children's' trust by being an example of the words that I speak into their lives.

In 20 years, I hope that I have built a foundation of trust that supports our family's legacy. As adults, my children will choose the counselors that fill their lives, and I hope to have a sit at the table, not because I am Dad, but because my advice is worthy to be heard and lived out.

I Will Visit You.

As a parent, I have the responsibility to prepare my children for the time when they leave my home. I mold and shape their lives today so that they can be the future versions of themselves that they are designed to be.

My job is not to keep them so close that they cannot explore and live life. My job is not to make every decision for them so that they are totally dependent on me. My job is to equip them to leave me in such a way that they desire to come back to visit me.

In 20 years, I hope for phone calls that end with "I love you Daddy. I will see you soon!"

Final Thoughts


I am imperfect. I often hurt the people that are closest to me and that mean the most to me. But I long for and will strive for better relationships and better communication. I look forward to a future that is filled with love and trust. I anticipate a day when my "little" kiddos bring their little kiddos to my home.

We will celebrate the past together. Will be live out the present together. And we will anticipate a great future together.

dream it steem it -red.jpg

Image Source:
https://pixabay.com/en/people-family-man-old-woman-kid-2600767/

Sort:  

Great post.
Sometimes you forget that it is our job to raise them to be able to survive on their own. It is a tough job being a parent.

Darryl

@dadview, thanks for the comment. Parenting is tough but rewarding. We need to keep in focus that parenting is more about equipping our kids to be adults versus trying to live out a second childhood though our children.

Very well said

Well Written. Enjoyed Reading Your Blog. :)

@fahimahmed, glad that you are enjoying my blog. Thanks for the comment.

Upvote and follow u.......Same is needed from u........

Your post us useful

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

You're a genius!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50