You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Baby’s Got It Made

in #parenting6 years ago

Lovely post, mate. And congratulations. Having a child really is a remarkable experience and I can tell that you really get that. I have five kids myself. My oldest is almost six and my youngest was just born in November. We chose to do home births, which is still really taboo here in the US (not sure where you are). Our first birth took nearly 55 hours. I think it is safe to say that our wives are warriors, eh?
Also, I love the name. We had really similar criteria for our kid's names. We came up with: Lyla, Marlowe, Coretta, Adele, and Caspian.
I'm using Steemit as an outlet on a variety of topics, but parenting/life with young kids is one of my main, in case you were looking for anyone else to follow. ;)
Enjoy this time. Cheers.

Sort:  

Right on! Yeah, it's extremely taboo here in Chile. It's illegal to do intentionally but easy to get around with a little BS like "it just came so suddenly." They want everyone to give birth in a hospital, where they jump on any excuse to do a C-section. They even have a cop there to enforce the mandatory vaccination law. Obviously, I wasn't about to walk my family into a butcher shop like that. Glad to meet you :)

Whoa! Yeah, that's a whole new level. Glad you all were able to make your own decisions about the birth. As a lawyer, I can sort of understand the pressure for C-sections: natural births have a lot of variables and variables can expose people to liability (at least in a country as litigious as America). Still, it really is a tragedy that that has become the driving force. My aunt is a midwife and I was born at home, so it seemed like the normal thing to me. I'm glad my wife felt the same way, because she ultimately had veto power.
Just saw what you are working on over at @cryptacademy! That looks awesome. I am looking forward to following the progress. Glad to meet you as well.

Just be sure to educate yourself regarding vaccines; the medical workers here use bully tactics, and prey upon ignorance, to pressure you to vaccinate your child.

Yeah, definitely staying away from hospitals. So far, so good.

They're harassing us about it now so we're moving to a different house and trying to shake them. So annoying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42