Getting crafty with my kidlet

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

My kids started their two week Spring Break officially at 3:30 on Friday. One of three is at a sleepover. One of three spent the day in the library teen room yesterday. And one of three (the littlest one) bounced back and forth between Mom and Dad all weekend, capping it off by being the ice cream in an ice cream sandwich with Mom and Dad as bedtime cookies.

Basically, my littlest baby reaped the most benefits of this weekend including me getting my craft on—something I rarely do unless it involves yarn, crochet hooks and a fire in the fireplace.

Alas, I had none of those things, but I was equipped with several types of ribbon, sparkly bits and a hot glue gun. The result was my sweetie and I creating 6 hair bows (two as gifts for others).

I took pictures of each bow as we went along. I had a lot of fun but was happy when we ran out of glue. I love craftjng, but I don’t love messes. You can see if you look around the pictures that we were crafting in a mess. One I very much wanted to clean up more than I wanted to glue sparkles to ribbon. But how could I disappoint this cutie?

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Happy Sunday!

Sort:  

Aww, she is just too adorable! How could you even see the mess for all that cuteness?! :D I love the bows you made, especially the first one and the last one. They are all beautiful and I'm sure the recipients of the gifts will enjoy them too!

Aww thank you! It's really more feeling the mess than seeing it. It doesn't embarrass me, just frazzles my nerves. But, yeah, she's the sweetest so I put my blinders on. :)

Nevermind the mess, she sure would remember this happy memory some day.
PS. She's such a doll! 😍😍😍

She's already looking forward to the next go round. Now if I could just remember where I put my hot glue sticks . . .

You'll find it. You're a mom!

Cuteness overload 😅, i should go and rub of some for my self😁. The bows are the finishing touch to a princess-y look. Then the cuteness blossoms. I totally understand how you feel about the mess , i get that adorable "please help me" look from my junior brother and then the whole house is upside down but what do i know the little lad is happy, am happy your cute daughter is happy, you are happy, sums up everything for me.

but was happy when we ran out of glue.

This 👆 got me 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

LOL the glue. Yep. A natural end point is always appreciated when it come to crafting. It wasn't so hard to clean up. I've got the place back in order today and am enjoying the incredible luxury of not sweeping because we have a robot vacuum. (To be honest, I usually sweep along with the vacuum, but I did a lot today and I deserve a break.) :)

You do deserve a break, am guessing the robo-vacuum guy is cool

Aw, how sweet. <3 I love these, expecially the ones with gems. Hope your littlest had as much fun as appears to be the case!

She loved the gems the most. Anything with sparkle to match the joy in her eyes. Don't be surprised if images of me wearing her creations surface. LOL

Haha, I'm sure you'll look fabulous!

I don't have children but I can tell you as a daughter that is wonderful to spent quality time with your mom... Those hours of crafting are my treasures.

Btw, you should edit one tag "photography"

Thank you @marynessc! I edited the tag. I do remember doing this kind of stuff with my mom who is a natural "by hand" artist. I always imagined I would have oodles of patience for it because I loved it so much as a kid. In retrospect, what I loved was following instructions and completing a project, then the satisfaction of cleaning up. Yep, I was that kid. My daughter sooooo is not. And that's okay, but staying in the now with her takes work. Delightful work, but work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46