Am I a Good Father?

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

When my first child was born it was a pretty frantic experience to say the least as it probably is for most new parents. We were sitting at our house and it was a regular fall weekend. My wife started to experience the pains of labor and we knew it was time. We rushed off to the hospital, and were immediately checked in. The anxiety started to set in for both of us as they started to check the vital signs of our new baby. We were going to be parents! My wife was given labor inducing medicine and we waited, and waited, and waited some more. . After about, 16 hours the doctors came in frantically and said my wife needs a C-section and they have to perform the procedure "NOW". I clearly remember drifting in and out of sleep at her bed-side and was awoken out of a dream to multiple doctors in our room. They ushered my wife off to the operating room and said they would be back for me when ready. At this point my anxiety level was through the roof, thinking to myself all the things that could go wrong. When the doctors came back I was brought to the operating room where my wife was laying on an operating table and had been given pain medication so she couldn't feel from her torso down. They sat me right next to her so I could hold her hand while the doctors were wearing large Avatar helmets and began to cut my wife open at her stomach. The experience of a C-Section is kind of surreal as the doctor begins to cut a human being open while they are still awake and then proceeds to aggressively pull the baby out of a body. I clearly remember being extremely scared and also thinking to myself, "This shit is pretty barbaric for the 21st century. Can't believe we haven't figured out a better way to do this by now." If you have every experienced a C-Section for the first time, then you will know what I mean. Anyhow, everything went well and our baby girl was delivered successfully. I remember seeing her for the first time and it was great, however there wasn't that feeling as described by some people. . .I didn't have those awe inspiring feelings and I didn't feel the immediate love and bond that some new parents speak of. It was more of a 'What the fuck is happening right now!' feeling. 

The Next 3 1/2 Years

Over the next 3 1/2 years my wife managed to pop out 2 more children and now our lives were really in full baby swing. 3 kids under 3 years old is no easy task for anyone. We were officially out numbered and playing "zone defense" with these 3 little bundles of joy. One thing that has always concerned me is that it took a really long time for me to feel a major bond with any of my children when they were younger than 2 years old. Maybe it is a "guy thing" but there was  no major attachment when any of my kids were under 2 years old. This is not to say that I didn't enjoy feeding them or watching them make funny faces, but there was never those extreme feelings of love that you hear people talk about. Maybe I don't get attached easily or maybe there is just something wrong with me, but I don't ever remember having those over the top, you changed my life, I could never live without you type of feelings. I often times wondered if there was something wrong with me. 

The Coming Years

Today, my oldest daughter is 5 years old, my son is 3 years old, and my youngest daughter is 2. They are still a handful at these ages and it sometimes feels like my wife and I are losing the battle as they seem to know how to disrupt our zone defense strategies. They manage to pull off unthinkable tasks while watching and laughing as we try to keep order in a house of 2 adults and 3 wild animals. The pressure can be mounting at times and there is one question that is always on my mind, "Am I A Good Father?". I can say one thing I know for certain is that those love feelings that people speak of regarding their children has most certainly set in, but not until about 2 years of age with any of my children. It is at this age where they start to communicate a little bit and become more like "little people" as opposed to burping, slurping, pooping machines when they are just babies. Maybe it just takes longer for men to become attached as women have a head start by carrying the baby in their womb for 9 months, who knows?.  

Fatherhood 

The question of being a good father is always with me. Children do not come into this world with an instructional manual and it is not always easy to know if you are "doing it right". You just do your best and hope for the rest. I guess I could talk about all the things I teach my children and the love I show them on a daily basis, but there always seems to be the doubt in the back of my mind. You never really know if you are figuring this Daddy thing out. There are no pats on the back and you aren't graded for your efforts. You're a parent and it can be difficult and extremely rewarding while testing every ounce of patience that you have at the same time. 

Am I A Good Father?

I don't really know. . .But then again, does anyone really?



Sort:  

I have a lovely daughter... Always i m thinking if i am a good father too.. I wish some day to hear it from her that i was.

You are honey 💜 and u will hear it from her soon

Thats the best thing we can hear...

Your post made me cry. I’m sure you’re an Amazing Father! Just be there for them, they don’t need much. Just Love!!! My ex-husband moved to Hawaii (we’re in Florida) and didn’t even call for 3 months, it was a heartbreakfor me knowing that my awesome son would not have his father around, but today, three years later, I know everything happens for a reason. So I have no doubt... You Are a Good Father!

I think you are spot on here. How many kids don't even have a father? Too Many! Just being there makes you a good dad to start. Caring and Loving makes you an awesome dad! great post, and reply = perspective.

I was always worried when they were very small that I would break them or hurt them in some manner, they come out so small. After each kid that fear diminishes a little each time but never goes away.
I don't think the fear of doing it wrong ever goes away but as you watch them grow and see them turn into little thinking, speaking and exploring children you can see your influence.
At the ages you speak of as long as you are providing them with life's needs and spending time with them, you're an amazing father. The bonding also seems to come easier the more direct care you do the younger they are. Feeding, changing, rocking, bathing and so on. Many mothers take on this role 80% of the time while dad does about 20% so mom's normally bond faster as they have been since they were still growing the baby. Men will never experience that, a baby is growing inside of me. That is a disadvantage to bonding, it has nothing to do with you being a bad father. You're just given a child at a disadvantage to their mother.

I completely agree about C-Sections. It looks like a bad gore film. Big hole, guts flipped all over in what seems like a sloppy mess. I've done it all as far as birth goes and I am honestly best with the C-Section. Other than worry for my wife I don't mind the guts and blood.

Now go make another one, 3 isn't a test to your defense at all.

I felt exactly the same as you do with my two boys. It wasn't until about age 6 or 7 when I really felt that bond solidify. Of course I loved and cared for them in the early years but in a lot of ways I felt a bit helpless because they were so dependent on their mom. It is during this time that mom needs you the most. :) As long as you are doing your best, I'd say you are a good father.

Love them to death, make sure they know it. The rest is the byproduct of that foundation. One of my finest life moments was when my oldest daughter, at age 30 (and my most rebellious teen *-) ), told me I had done everything RIGHT ! Just enjoy them.

Bro... I know. Lol kidding, I'm sure you're a great dad.

I have two little girls, so we're still playing man to man to defense.

Me and my buddy (who has 3), discussed something similar. I know the feeling of not having that immediate bond. I think it's because it's like: "who is this kid?"

It took me about 6-7 months both times.

Another friend at work said it was almost a year for him to connect with his son. He said, and I quote:
"I don't know if I even like this kid!"

Lol happy dadding!

We can only find out later in life from the kind of person our child becomes...its tricky but rewarding in so many ways

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 7400 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works. News you will find under the hashtag #resteembotnews.

Join the new big exchange over our link https://www.kucoin.com/#/?r=28Jre Code: 28Jre and get 10 free resteems and upvotes.

@resteem.bot

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 8.08% vote... I was summoned by @rawdawg! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

I think you are a good #father

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54