You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I Doing The Right Thing for My Kids or I'm Pushing Them Away From Me?

in #parenting8 years ago

Kids are crazy, wonderful beings. They need love, fairness and stability and will ALWAYS seek your attention (negative or positive). No parent knows if they're doing it right. No child comes with a manual. It's just trial and error.
My opinion - The problems you list can all be changed. Unfortunately they are all things you allow. You're the adult and they need your guidance. It's just the way it is. You don’t even have to punish your kids to rectify it. (although they will at first think it’s punishment). Just set boundaries and stick to them. Boundaries are walls. Kids will ALWAYS try to climb them – it’s their job, but the walls make them feel safe (even if they don’t consciously know it yet).
Good luck and keep steeming.

Sort:  

Thanks naomi, i started to understand things now. It really help expressing myself and admitting what is wrong.

This is just an excellent post. All parents have problems sometimes. I've had people stop me in town to ask if I needed help with my kids (at the time they were screaming, fighting, crying all at once) I damn near died of embarrassment! Trick is to not lose your mind when they lose it. Admittedly it's sometimes easier said than done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43