You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog] Thoughts from the Front Lines: Explaining Differences

in #parenting7 years ago

Hey @lturner, People like you who notice the little differences are the ones who enjoy life the most. I like how you train your kids. Dissuading them from any form of prejudice based on race, skin colour, parental upbringing etcz.

Explaining all differences to them with love is where the tactful parent wins the race. Because a 5yr old may just remember all those lessons he/she learned from that age. It will always be part of his/her consciousness so ensure its a good lesson.

Another thing you duely pointed out is the innocence of children. I love children because they are still teachable and educable. I hope to have mine someday and when I do...I hope to give them the best lessons of life. I'm glad there's a couple like you and @ironshield here on STeemit that I can learn from. Cheers!

#Hug-Challenge!

Sort:  

Thank you! It's definitely tough to teach "good" and "bad" and "just different". It really does come down to love and a love of what is good especially. If you teach children to love what is good, they naturally look at "good" and "bad" rather than the more superficial things of race, parental choices, etc. But you can't teach it unless you live it yourself, so it really makes me have to look to my own character, that's for sure.

I definitely hope you have some of your own someday - from what I can see and read, you would definitely be a good daddy!

Awwwn. Thank you on the good daddy compliment. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53