You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [PARENTING] To Spank or Not To Spank? My childhood experience, what I learned and how I incorporated that into parenthood

in #parenting8 years ago

Yes, I remember getting some whacks that I felt were unjustified too...and that's when attitude reared its ugly head because I was like Wait - how is that fair? I think it's shaped my attitude in taking ownership of my actions, mistakes and all - and a big part of why I always root for the underdog.

Even though my youngest is 18 now, there are times when I feel like I've failed as a parent...but never because I disciplined the way I did. I don't remember exactly when I cut the umbilical cord and released myself from the responsibility of their choices.

They know they can turn to me any time they need me but they also know I won't allow them to put blame on me either. I did the best that I could and one lesson I instilled in them was: If you do your best, make your best effort, then never take ownership of someone else's disappointment.

I guess my point is, I had to find some way to reach my kids and be an example of love and discipline (among other things...all the things...) and sometimes the fastest way was a good old fashioned whack on the butt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37