You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I Doing The Right Thing for My Kids or I'm Pushing Them Away From Me?

in #parenting8 years ago

Juvy, you asked for my advice after reading my parenting post the other night. We have intentionally made the rules very clear in our home. We also don't have too many. But, the discipline must clear, concise and consistent. As long as they stay inside the lines we've set up they are free to make the majority of their own decisions.
As they age, it is natural for them to spend more time with friends. This is how they develop independence. Perhaps you could establish a trade. Better tone of voice, doing chores, etc, for the freedom to make some choices they don't have now. It is hard to say what you should you do. I don't know you or your boys, but the fact you are humble enough to ask makes me believe you are not, in fact, a dictator.

Sort:  

Thanks @markrmorrisjr, they have their own choice Im not depriving them with that rights. I just want to implement good manners which I they learned the bad outside.

Well if you have no bargaining chips, lol, then I guess the only way is to make sure you are painfully polite in their presence and talk to them about how that behavior will reflect on their future success. I find that if I talk to my kids about things I am concerned about and help them see the consequences of the choices I'd like to change, they typically understand and apply it. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71