Parenting Priorities: Make Time To Have Fun With Your Kids 😄

in #parenting6 years ago

Life is hectic, especially when both parents are working full time and raising children. Coming home most nights resembles a domestic whirlwind as we try and sort out dinner, clean the kitchen, get the kids bathed, sort out homework, check message books and generally just run around like crazy trying to sort as much out as possible. This is just the way it is if we all only get home after five in the afternoon. The problem I have with this nightly rush is that in trying to sort it all out as quickly as possible I tend to moan a lot.

You know how it goes, “Soren, pick up your socks.” “Katalina, I’m coming with your milk.” “Please share the tablet with your sister so she can also watch.” “Please put your bag in your room.” “Why haven’t you put your bowl in the sink yet.” This goes on and on until eventually everyone is settled, which is normally around 8 o’clock. Doesn’t sound cool hey?

The point I’m trying to make is that we all need to also make time to have some fun with our children. To be honest they really don’t care about the dishes or whether dinner is ready as soon as possible. What they do care about is you. They haven’t seen you all day. Sure, they have had fun with their friends but they are also tired and your moaning and nagging about everything is not helping. In fact, how would you feel if you were the one on the receiving side? Granted if they would just do it in the first place then you wouldn’t have to moan, right? Well to that all I will say is, “what young kid will just do the non fun stuff without some nagging?”

That’s one of the things I love the most about children. They do what makes them happy. They do what they think is fun. They are young and they don’t really have any responsibilities yet. They shouldn’t have anything that is stressing them out. For them fun is the order of the day. While raising them to be well balanced and to understand responsibility is important, it shouldn’t distract from spending quality time having fun with them occasionally too. Live life through their eyes for a bit. You’ll be surprised how doing this makes you feel too.

It doesn’t even have to be hectic time-consuming activities. Please don’t choose ones that will just lead to you becoming frustrated as that defeats the purpose. Some of the things that I like to do are the following:

  • Jamming to an awesome song in the car on the way home
  • Tickling games
  • Singing nursery rhymes
  • Letting my children show me something they find interesting
  • Bubble baths together
  • Letting them help me with something around the house, and no this is not in a child labor kinda way haha
  • Let them draw me a picture and then go on about how much I love it
  • Snuggle with them while they are watching something on TV
  • Taking silly photos and selfies
  • Random hugs, I love this one

There are a lot more, but I think you get the idea. Just have fun with it and be a little silly. Your kids will enjoy it and you will to. The house work can wait and at the end of the day I would much rather have a messy house with happy kids than the other way around.

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😊
All photos were taken by me 😉, with my Samsung Galaxy S8 or S3

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Oh yes for sure! I must admit, that between the wife and I, we had to try (really hard) to find the balance....I was too much of the 'having-fun-with-the-kids' type of dad, and she was too much of the 'this house needs to be perfect' type of mom. Man to find that balance can sometimes prove to be a real task....and yet we keep trying to improve as parents.
Good luck with your beautiful family, and thanks for the post.

Cheers

Yes finding the balance can be tough and I'm glad that you managed to sort it out. Thank you for sharing your own experience and for the support.

You are right @jusipassetti. Kids love fun and it is important that parents create time to have fun with their kids. I can also say that having fun with your kids helps in bonding with them.

Lovely post @jusipassetti and a very important lesson for parents, believe you me your kids grow up way too fast so do all the fun things whenever you can & wherever you can, some great ideas :):)

Thank you very much @lizelle. I know, it's crazy how quickly they grow up. It can scare me at times.

Thank you for writing this post. I think you really write well, to the point but very effective in conveying your message. I totally agrees with this:

The house work can wait and at the end of the day I would much rather have a messy house with happy kids than the other way around.

Blessings!

Thank you very much @hope777. I really appreciate it. It means so much to me that you enjoy my style of writing.

Yes. Agreed. They do what makes them happy. Good idea. I forget to do that sometimes. Let me go find my Peter Pan Happy Thought. I know I left it around laying around here somewhere, hehe.

You should, you won't be sorry @joeyarnoldvn.

Yeah, indeed. It is important to just have fun with the leetle monsters.

My favourite part was this

I would much rather have a messy house with happy kids than the other way around.

That is #1 :)

Indeed, a messy house is a sure sign of happy kids hahaha.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:47:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 87.25/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68