Dating Advice I'd Give My Daughter ❤️️

in #parenting6 years ago


I’ve become completely obsessed with the series Gilmore Girls. I just can’t get enough and my husband is seriously annoyed that I have access to all the seasons on Netflix. I watched a few episodes a few years ago but now I can watch the entire thing from start to finish which I am absolutely loving 😊

It got me thinking about my own daughter and what type of advice I would give her when she inevitably starts dating one day. The thought terrifies me and I’m sure her father has already started thinking of ways to get rid of the body without going to jail haha. The fact of the matter remains that it will happen one day and I would like to be able to give her some good advice as, well, I didn’t receive much from my own mother, apart from the make sure you marry well one day. Or the if you do decide to start having sex please let me know so that I can put you on the pill. That’s a conversation that I would rather not remember.

In the end I pretty much had to figure it all out on my own and there are so many things that I wish someone had just told me before. I’m sure I would have saved myself a lot of heartache and pain. There probably would have been less creepy boyfriends and I might have actually focused more on the important things.

I made a lot of mistakes in my younger years. A lot of it came from having a low self-esteem and the lack of good advice. I don’t ever want any of my children to feel that they can’t talk to me and I sure as hell don’t want my daughter running around learning her lessons the hard way like I did. At least this way I have a record of it all in a way that hopefully will make some sense.

Drum roll please. Here are the nuggets of wisdom that I would share with her one day. Although I think we’re still holding out on her staying away from the dating scene all together hahaha.

He’s Just Not That Into You

Man, this would have saved me a lot of time and embarrassment. Be bold they said. Chase after him, they said. Bullshit. If a man is really into you he will do all of those things himself. Woman always think men are complicated. They are not. Woman made them complicated so that we would feel better about them not calling us back. Nothing will stand between a man and a woman that he’s attracted to. Trust me, nothing. They will always find a way. Sure, some are shyer than others but eventually they will find a way to let you know.

Never Change For Him

You’ve got your eyes on a stud and you know that he likes this or that. In order to hopefully gain his attention you decide to like this or that too. I was really guilty of this one. My life would change to suit any such stud that I had laid my eyes on. At one point I even signed up for a 24 month subscription for Car Magazine. I don’t like cars that much haha. You want a man to like you for who you are and not who you are pretending to be. The pretense will wear off eventually and man oh man it is exhausting living a life that isn’t the one that you want to live.

If He’s With Someone Else Walk Away

I don’t care how unhappy he is in his other relationship he will not leave her if you are willing to give him what he wants while he’s still with her. It’s the best of both worlds scenario and trust me, they almost never leave their original partner. If he’s that unhappy he must leave her first. This is a non-negotiable for me. I would never want to be someone’s sloppy seconds anyway. Plus, if you’ve ever been cheated on you know how the other side feels.

Sleeping With Him Won’t Change A Damn Thing

You should always sleep with someone because you want to and not for any other reason. It won’t make him want to date you or propose to you or leave the other partner or any other absurd reason you want to cook up in your brain. It will not change the fact that it was just casual sex for him and break your own heart because you felt it meant something when it didn’t.

You Should Want To Share Everything With Him

I mean everything. He should be the one that you run to with everything. When you’re happy and sad. You should also know that he wants the same from you. He needs to be available to you when you need him and you should be available when he needs you too.

He Should Make You Laugh. Not Cry All The Time

If you spend more time crying than laughing then I would assume that he is a complete prick that really doesn’t give two tosses about you. You should be able to laugh and smile a lot. This one comes from your father so it’s important.

Well that’s it from my side. I’d love to hear some of your own comments as well. These are just some of the things I picked up during my own journey. I honestly believe that if I had known some of this before the time I might have saved myself a few scars. In hindsight though, I am grateful that I went through some of it as it taught me some valuable lessons that I can now pass onto my own daughter.

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😊
All photos were taken by me 😊, with my Samsung Galaxy S8.


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Gilmore Girls, ugh. Almost feel like flagging this post just for mentioning that. Then again, I might well have an uprising to deal with, lol.

Kidding babes, some great advice, mwah, love you lots.

Haha that would be an irresponsible flag. Love you lot's too 😘

Good list prepared @jusipassetti honesty is the best policy, alongside they are never to young to learn.

A great piece of advice for all the girls out there. It will help a girl to find the right man who loves her for the rest of his life.

Have fun and always be happy!

Thank you very much @rezoanulvibes. I'm happy that through my own experiences that I will be able to give her good advice one day.

dear madam,
I understand that you read your post, you are a lot of fun, you love to have fun, you were very clever in the short time.

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58