A Mother's Love

in #parenting6 years ago


image source

“A Mother’s love is something that no one can explain, It is made of deep devotion and of sacrifice and pain, It is endless and unselfish and enduring come what may For nothing can destroy it or take that love away.” – Helen Steiner Rice

The above is just an extract of the poem by Helen Steiner Rice and if you’re interested in reading the rest then please go and do so. It is truly a beautiful poem and it's titled, A Mother’s Love. For me it perfectly describes how I feel as mother.
The love that we feel for our children is the reason behind every action that we take and is behind every decision that we make.

Yesterday I attended a First Aid training course and while I was sitting with another student having lunch we started chatting. During said conversation we were discussing our children and she matter of factly said the following, “There have been days when there is very little food and I only drink coffee and smoke so that the kids have food. As long as they’ve had food then I’m good.”

Now just imagine this situation for a minute. I don’t know this woman at all and we basically just ended up sitting at the same table to eat our lunch. You see, for her it’s just the way it is. She wasn’t telling me this to garner sympathy from me or so that I would jump up and say. “What? This is so incredibly sad. What can I do to help?” I would never have disrespected her in that way. The point is, she’s just doing what any other mother would do. She doesn’t need a noddy badge for that. Isn’t that what our jobs are after all?

That whole conversation has really stayed with me. It pointed out a very important role that we as parents play. Our children are our number one priority. It also led me to thinking about what we sacrifice as parents for the benefit of our children. I’ve just never seen it as a sacrifice as for me it’s not about giving up something I value for my children. It’s something that must be done. We work the extra hours so that they can get what they need. We stop bad behaviors so that we don’t impact on their lives negatively. We forego certain luxury’s so that they can get the extra lessons that they need. This list can go on and on and will change with each person’s individual situation.

At the end of the day our children matter more than ourselves. This doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t look after yourself. I’m just trying to point out that universally we all have this in common. So next time you feel like you’re not doing a good job just remember that as long as your children are happy then it’s a sure-fire sign that you are.

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😊.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Another great post about motherhood and parenthood. I just love this one:

We stop bad behaviors so that we don’t impact on their lives negatively.

Unfortunately, that is not something all parents do. I wish more parents would look at their bad habits in that way!
Sunday Blessings!

Thank you very much @hope777 and yes sadly it's not always the case.

Mother is another word for love.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful moment and reminder with us, as a mother, I truly am at my happiest knowing my child is happy xxx

I know right, it's like that's all that matters. Thank you @sweetpea.

“There have been days when there is very little food and I only drink coffee and smoke so that the kids have food. As long as they’ve had food then I’m good.”

I can remember SO many times throughout my life where I would watch my mom sit with practically NOTHING on her plate... just so that all of us would have plenty and you know... she STILL does it! Even now, when she dishes food, she gives all the prime cuts to us and she takes whatever is left over....

A mothers love is truly unconditional and it is one of the most precious things in the world!

Lovely post hon xxx

It truly is @jaynie and it really is just the way us mothers are. It's a truly selfless love and thankfully now that you're a mother yourself you can truly understand why your own mother did what she did. My grandmother was the same. Thank you for sharing such an intimate memory with me xxx.

So true.... hahaha - I am however probably a little more selfish when it comes to my food LOL - this morning we went to Wimpy for breakfast and as I was enjoying my last pork banger jude asked if he can have it... sigh lol.... he got it, but rather reluctantly from my side hahahaha!!!

Hahaha I know that feeling well and it's always the lekker things that they want. Like don't you rather want this piece of toast?

hahaha!!! or...... they don't finish the damn thing, and then you don't want it back because it its been in their dirty mits which have touched everything in the restaurant, short of the inside of the toilet bowl hahahha!!!

Yes this is what normally happens. Never mind where the hands have been what about the state it's in, most of the time it looks pre chewed 🤣😂.

Mother is amaizing people. She can make us peace with her hug and love..
Thanks you for your post☺

For parents, children are everything. If they are happy, you will be happy.

Our parents love us as we love our children. Our parents do the same as we do for our kids. Love your parents as they did when you were a baby. They sacrificed a lot of things just for you.

I love my mom and dad. Now I write on steemit. I think it would be bigger than we think of right now. I can spend this earnings for my family.

I love your posts. Keep posting! See you around, @jusipassetti :)

As mothers we will sacrifice everything as long as we live, even if our children are old.
When my children are happy, I am.
When my children are sad, I am more sad!
Very nicely written @jusipassetti!

Yep, there's a reason why airplanes specify that if there's an emergency, and the oxygen masks drop, that mothers need to put theirs on first, not their kids (at least it was a thing at one time - I haven't flown in forever!).

This is a wonderful tribute to mothers @jusipassetti, and I appreciate the reminder that if my kids are happy, that I've not completely mucked up the job as mom. 😜

That's also a beautiful bit of poetry you shared, and I will definitely check out the rest. It reminds me of one of my favorite lines (and yes, I quote this ALL the time at my kids...LOL).

"Mother is the name for God in the lips and hearts of little children." ~ Eric Draven, The Crow (original author, William Makepeace Thackeray).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57