You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #4: 🌸 Lucy Locket 🌸

in #parenting7 years ago

I have never heard that rhyme before! It never ceases to amaze me how easy it is to turn adult themes into kids' entertainment... Honestly kids movies and TV shows do this too. For example, I LOVED the Gargoyles TV show when I was a kid, and bought the DVDs when I was in uni. Rewatching it made me realize how much of it was way over my head!!! it's hilarious.

Sort:  

I do not know the Gargoyles, but I loved Rugrats, which had multiple levels and appealed to adults (my friends and I,) teens (my kids,) and young children.

The Simpsons also had multiple levels. Probably still has, I believe it's still in production. A Streetcar Named Marge is possibly my favourite episode. There were several storylines in that one episode, all of which worked both independently and together. The best scenes, although all scenes were marvellous, were Maggie as the Cooler King (Steve McQueen,) complete with ball and glove.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Ah yes rugrats for sure too-any Pixar movie for that matter is so well written that it’s got A level for every age! Simpson’s really isn’t marketed as a kid show though obviously kids watched it (much to their parents chagrin I’m sure haha)

@derosnec It may not be such a well known rhyme outside of England which is why I thought it may be an interesting one to do, not to mention the subject matter this week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50