You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Disciplining Children -- Questioning the Norm!

in #parenting7 years ago

I was physically disciplined by multiple family members but most aggressively by my dad who left serious bruises on me all the time. I knew from the beginning that it was not love and I also knew from an early age that there was something wrong with them. Even though I knew the difference between love and abuse, I still grew up to be pretty violent. I got into a lot of fights in school and I used threats and violence well into my 20's to satisfy my ego. Luckily none of my upbringing is transferred to my kids now. Maybe because I was able to clearly identify love from abuse since I could remember.

Sort:  

How beautiful it is to break the cycle @claudialynn. Awareness is definitely the primary key. It is also interesting how deep seated our childhood trauma is, even though some may see it as normal. Our personalities are built on layers and layers of life experiences, so to uncover them can be quite the journey.

I believe we are entering new times where people are waking up and realizing there is definitely something wrong with the way things are, now looking for solutions and new ways of being. I'm so grateful to be a part of a whole new paradigm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44