I've Stopped Hating Mother's Day

in #parenting5 years ago

46831361_2030748563684681_4979859003111636992_o.jpg

I used to hate Mother's Day. LOATHED it. I felt like a horrible mother, like I didn't deserve any type of celebration, and thus any 'thanks' felt undeserved and was just something to remind me that I'd brought children into this world who had to deal with my serious mental illness and dysfunction.

Now? I've dealt with the majority of my issues (but don't worry, I still have plenty to spare) and my kids are grown...

And mother's day is barely a thing.

We don't make a big deal out of it, ONLY because the things most people do to celebrate Mother's Day are the things that my kids/family do for me or with me all the time.

Sprite is the one that has to make extra effort since she has little ones of her own now, especially as a single mom, but we talk about everything and can spend hours talking without barely taking a breath. Most importantly, I think, is that she trusts me completely with her children. I know what a big deal that is.

Kainan takes me out, or comes to see me for a meal at least once a week. (He generally adds in some extra shopping or something else that we can do together for the 'holiday') He is the one that makes me laugh whenever someone says, "Enjoy those hugs, because someday soon, he'll be embarrassed of you and won't want you to hug him anymore" ... and yet he still hugs me, tells me he loves me every time he sees me.

I can talk to him about anything (and I do mean anything) and he talks to me about pretty much everything as well. AND he even takes my advice when he asks for it :) He will drop pretty much anything on a dime to help out with any family things, no coercion needed.

Jaedin brought me grapes yesterday because he knows I love frozen grapes... but he keeps me supplied all the time with the freezer he bought me for Christmas. He talks to me about everything and is yet another child who asks for and takes my advice. He's my go-to guy for any techie issues that need solved and will always take time to help me (or anyone else in the family) when we need it.

Every time he comes by (weekly, at least) he asks how I'm doing on grapes. His gf Kera is just as awesome. She offers to help with Kombucha, brought me chocolate today and always always has nice things to say about my son, my parenting and is just generally an awesome woman who makes my son very happy.

Paris and I tend to go do something like get tattoos or massages, because I think Paris understands more than anyone that I just sometimes need some... I don't know, extra decadent time that costs money I would never spend on myself. Something that we enjoy doing together.

And yet another child that talks to me about everything. (When we were away in Iowa, I made some flippant joke about her keeping secrets from me... and she stressed for two days trying to think of something she might have kept from me when she was growing up. :)

She's also my shopping buddy and always has been. I swear, it's a weird skill, but she can make even a typical grocery shopping trip seem like a deep bonding moment (usually with extra entertainment/stress relief to boot)

Abyni painted a picture for me today. That might sound like a typical 'kid' thing to do, but she was actually doing several paintings this weekend. Then she told me that she was painting them for friends... that she was painting what she saw as their souls.... and I literally started crying when she told me that, because each one she had shown me was just really mind-blowing and emotive in a way I couldn't quite place. When she told me the reasoning behind them, I was overwhelmed. I ALMOST asked her to paint one for me, but then stopped myself. I'm going through some really really rough times right now and I knew that she'd see enough of it... and I didn't want her to paint something stressful/depressing, so I didn't ask.

Later she came to me with a painting and as soon as I saw it, I was reminded of our time on the boat. There was a particular harbor that we had to get to through a small inlet. We had to hit it at a pretty precise time to avoid being smashed on the rocks.... something that's pretty hard to explain if you've never been on a boat with no engine and only sails.

Suffice it to say (and I'll write more extensively on this later), she captured the current storms in my life, in our lives... and somehow painted the exact thing that made me feel hope that we can and will get through this particular storm as well.

I just have to say that I am so thankful that I'm a mom to this humans. They aren't perfect, never have been. Neither am I.

But our relationship is solid. Their dedication to me, to this family is unmatched. Their support and love is astounding and I've really never had to deal with the "I hate you" or the stereotypical teen years.

I can not possibly convey how thankful I am to be the mom of these people. Patrick and I are so incredibly lucky to have this family and I will be forever grateful that they all got to have such awesome parents ;)

I just have to add, that the way they all support each other, and the way they've come together during our times of struggle... I couldn't be more proud of them if I tried. If I tried to write about them as fictional characters, I'd get raked over the coals, because no one would ever buy it as 'realistic'.

And just to temper this with a dose reality... they're not great at cleaning up after themselves or doing chores. And most of them swear like fucking sailors. ;)

And If I have fucked this up in some way and made one of you feel like less than the others, that was totally unintentional in my weird stream of consciousness. You're all weirdly amazing in such different ways, it's really hard to capture it all, even in this novella I've written.

Sort:  

Congratulations @byn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

OMG, this is such a wonderful post!!! I love the phots at the top, side-by-side, showing how your children have grown through the years! The writeup of each of your children, highlighting their personalities and telling stories about each one, was super-special! I can certainly understand and relate to your feelings about not feeling deserving of any special celebration being a mother, but it sounds to me as if you definitely deserve it for raising little-ones to be such amazing older-ones with big hearts and caring attitudes for those around them! What a fabulous tribute to your family! LOVE THIS! 💖

:) Thank you. I think writing is my love language. I try to write something for each of their birthdays and on certain holidays so in the future they'll have my words to remember.

Thanks for the wonderful comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thekittygirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What wonderful children you have!! ❤️ Must be such a huge blessing ((':

They are a HUGE blessing in my life. I don't know what I'd do without them!

I really enjoyed reading this post! I went through several years of dreading mother's day because my kids were too young to grasp its significance and my husband was too dense to show them by example that it was a special day. If I didn't plan something myself, nothing special happened. But then the kids got older and gradually caught on, and the day became more fun. It has been fascinating to watch them grow up and turn into unique adults with varied interests.

I love seeing my children grow into adults. They are all SO different, in spite of being raised in the same house. It's kind of weird sometimes! I'm very very lucky to have such awesome 'kids' in my life (even though they're all old now, I tell them soon they'll be the same age as me :) )

I totally understand about the kids being younger. It's such a different time when they're all little. So much work, time and effort, when you're not even quite sure if you're doing it right!

Hello @byn, how's it going? I just stopped by to check on you and this was your last post. I assume you are busy writing a book or something!

I actually got locked out of steemit because my password suddenly stopped working. I have no idea what happened, but I tried every day for two weeks and then suddenly yesterday it worked. ???

My daughter has been very sick for the last few weeks as well, so I haven't accomplished much of anything anywhere! Thanks for asking.

That certainly was a weird password experience! Glad you are back, and I hope your daughter feels better soon. I've been through a lot with my kids, too, and I know how distracting and unnerving it can be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79