Our little fixer!

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)


So today after school, our oldest daughter wanted to fix (well, replace the batteries...) of the toy from our youngest daughter... it is a Clementine doll, who works at a bakery and talks when you push a button. However, the batteries had run down ages ago, and so the young one never knew that Clementine could talk at all!

However, the oldest one did (it used to be her toy)... and she wanted to fix it up for her sister! Unfortunately, I was busy re-transcribing music for an upcoming concert and her mother was busy preparing dinner. However, we've fixed many things (not just replacing batteries...) before... and she's made a few electronic things before as well (including using a soldering iron...). She's quite dexterous with her fingers, so small things aren't a problem....

So, I told her to get my little screwdriver set and the batteries... and she could just do it herself. I was sitting next to her just in case she needed any help... but, nope... she did it all from start to finish!


Proud Dad!... now if she could sort out my problem with PLEX and the NAS...



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Must be a very smart kid...until now I haven't replaced a battery like that by myself yet 🤣 who knows if I'll accidentally drop the screw somewhere I can't find...haha.

Oh, that's my trick! I can't tell you how many times I've managed that...

That is so cool. I love it when the kiddos do nice things for each other. Enjoy it while it's there.

Hopefully something that continues.... but I'm not holding my breath!

How old is she?
Congrats for her beautiful smile! 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

She is 7, and yes, she has such a sunny disposition!

Simply awesome! ^_^

She's on the path to self sufficiency. You taught her well, @bengy! 🙋

Yep, I should start getting her to work...

I need to have a little fixer around here, although once I get up the gumption
To actually begin, I do pretty good. I've always been one to fix or make do,
Rather than run out to buy something new.
Upvoted @bengy, for what few ¢'s
My votes are worth.

I know what you mean... Just getting started is the hardest part!...well, that and finding the time to actually finish it.

She is so adorable, brilliant kid!
Blessed parents.

Thanks! She is a good one!

OMG, this is sooooooo sweet! I have a younger sister and I just know what fixing a toy for her means! <3

Your daughters are so wonderful, @bengy!

Yes, that absolute sense of joy they have when the toy is fixed! She hasn't put it down for the whole week!

Sister-sister bond is so special :)

Beautiful! I love hearing about kids taking the initiatives of doing things themselves. Makes for independent grown ups later without having to rely on companies to fix things. (although some cases we have to but the more we know the better!)

Hoping to train her in that fashion... she does love doing these tiny fiddly sorts of things! I've had her help with computer stuff before, and she quite likes it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81