The Phantom Foghorn: A Freewrite Original

in #paranormal6 years ago (edited)

     This is a continuation of my post: A Flash In The Graveyard, where I describe my first venture into a haunted cemetery. That experience left me determined to find answers. Answers to what? I'm not really sure I knew. I just knew I had to return to that place. Less than two weeks later, I did.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Phantom Foghorn

     The cemetery is located on a small island in western New York. Adjacent to it is a large hotel that has changed ownership over the years. It was a Holiday Inn at the time of this story. An inlet of water separates the two. The inlet is a big hangout for ducks.

     Only having been there at night, I can't really attest to the layout of the cemetery. I remember a lot of trees and bushes. It felt more like being in a forest than a graveyard. It was a clear, mid-October night between the hours of 11 pm and 3 am. The temperature was in the 40's f.

     "How big is this place?" the new guy, Tim, nervously asked. We had already trekked deeper into the cemetery than last time. Our goal was to find Tanya's grave. We only knew it was in the back, in the older part. Of course, none of us knew the layout or size of the cemetery. And, due it's wooded aspect, the darkness was hard to penetrate even with flashlights.

     There we stood. Four of us. Three from the previous excursion. The fourth heard about our experience and wanted to come along. Fine. He was there for the same reason we were, to make contact with the spirit of this dead girl. "I have no idea," answered Jeremy.

     This was clearly not the response Tim was hoping for. "How much farther are we going?" That was a good question. I fully intended on going all the way to the back. But each step became harder and harder. Not necessarily because of fear. Yes we were all afraid. But there was an energy around us that seemed to get thicker with every step. It eventually became like I was walking through water...

SPLASH

     Before any of us could answer, the silence was broken by the sound of a loud splash coming from our right. Coming from the inlet! It sounded like a person jumping in the water! That sound was followed by the sound of dozens of ducks quacking frantically. As the sound of quacking died down, the four of us just stood there with incredulous looks on our faces.

     Mark finally broke the silence, "What the fuck was that?"

     "Tanya?" I replied. Everyone laughed uneasily. "I'd be playing with the ducks, too," I continued, "if I were her."

     Jeremy called out, "Tonya? If you're here can you give us a sign?"

     Listening, all you could hear was the water that surrounded the cemetery. A couple of seconds later I heard a foghorn go off in the distance. I heard it but I don't think anything of it.

     Again, Mark broke the silence, "Do you guys hear anything?"

     "Not really," Tim responded. Sounding not quite sure.

     We debated whether or not to continue going deeper into the cemetery. To find Tanya's grave. And we decided that was still the best option at this point. We didn't get far before we heard it again.

SPLASH

     The same exact sound. Like someone jumping in the water right in the inlet. And, again, the sound of dozens of ducks quacking excitedly. This time we went over there to investigate. Once the quacking died down, of course. We saw ducks. They were just hanging out. We didn't see anything that would cause that splashing sound. There were nothing but ducks floating in the inlet. There wasn't anything or anybody near the shore either.

     "There has to be something here," I declared, "This doesn't make any sense." We started to walk back into the cemetery. "Tonya? If you're here, can you give us a sign?" Once again this was greeted by the sound of water. And, once again, I heard a foghorn go off a couple of seconds later. This time I paid more attention to it. In fact, when I looked at Jeremy, he was looking at me. We've always had a weird connection. "Have you noticed that, when we ask for a sign, a foghorn goes off?" I said it to the group. But I was still looking at Jeremy.

     "Yes," Jeremy nodded. "I noticed that too." Mark and Tim concurred. Between this and the splashing, it felt like we were being teased.

     I pressed on, "Tanya? If you're here, can you give us a clearer sign?" We all listened. What I heard a couple seconds later was as clear as can be. Once again the foghorn went off. Except this time, it did a double tap. Honk. Honk.

     We were so excited. After the double tap, we didn't hear anything unusual for the rest of the night. No horns, no splashes, and no crazed ducks. We were in that cemetery for about three hours. As you can imagine I've thought about that experience a lot. Can I say, for a fact, we made contact with a spirit? No. But, we saw no explanation for the splashing sound or the foghorn. Also, what were the odds that someone was on a boat at 2:00 in the morning, in 40 degree weather, honking a horn right after we asked for a sign?

     As usual, though, whenever I seek out the unknown, I end up with more questions than answers. I hope you enjoyed reading this. 👻

Thank you, @MarianneWest for hosting the daily #freewrite! Join the fun!

All Images And Videos Are My Own

Sort:  

Did you feel a cold spot during the experience? Temperature lowering suddenly? Also, did you ever use a oui-ja board? You know what I think about these things, it's exactly the Nietzsche quote you put in one of your previous posts ;-) It's always very intriguing to read your reports..but pay attention to things I don't want to write about.

I just noticed this comment. My apologies. I didn't notice any significant temperature changes. Yes, in high school a bunch of friends and I used an ouija board. We were young and stupid. I wouldn't use one now.

Exactly..don't unless you want to risk being.. that thing.
No problems my friend and no need to say sorry..we're all taken by our life-washing machines :-)

Nice tie in with the prompt and a memory!
If the sounds were from Tanya, I wonder if she remembered the three of you from your previous excursion. Have you considered the possibility of your interactions being from a spirit/presence other than Tanya? Your first visit to the cemetery was with a...less focused group and ended differently. Did the energy feel the same each time? Or have some of the memories faded with time?

The energy was much different the second time. And, yes, I have since heard reports of many spirits haunting that cemetery. Maybe because it's so close to water. Flowing water has been theorized to increase energies and aid paranormal activity.

Oh, I had it in my head that the flowing water could act as a disruptive force. You reminded me that was another question that I had. How far was the range of the sightings for Tanya?
I like your freewrite graphic by the way.

I've only heard about the graveyard and hotel. That's a question I've always wondered, too. Why do some spirits seem to be attached to certain locations. Is it choice? Is it confusion? Spirits seem to have rules and limitations just like we do as mortals of flesh and blood.

I'll leave you with this creepy thought, though. If a spirit likes you, for whatever reason, they can attach themselves to you and follow you home. That's why it's important to protect yourself and the others there.

Thanks.

how did I miss this??????????

first, your Gif is SOOOOOOOOOOOO Cooooooooooool! Bravo on that one!!!!!!!!

2nd, yes, be careful what you wish for and always carry a shield around you when searching out things of the unknown!!!!!!!!

Thank You for sharing this!!!! a very good thing I didn't read this before bed!!!!!!!! LOLLLL

Thank you so much. I had visualized something different but accidentally created this one. 😁

I'm so glad I didn't disturb your rest.

hehehe great accident :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @omra-sky to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Brother your post is so beautiful. In this bost river is a so beautiful. Because your photography is a good brother.
You are nice man brother

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I feel like I read this before. I wonder if it was my doppelganger...

Today I am traveling from the town of Freewrite, delivering the latest of the Goddess Marianne's prompts accompanied with the musical honk of my bicycle's horn!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-87-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-turbine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68