A new paranormal social media platform, is being built on the blockchain!

in #paranormal6 years ago (edited)

Following on from my announcement about the new server, @pennsif messaged me on discord and gave me a link to some interesting information.

A new social media platform is being built for the purpose of those with a specific interest a range of subjects such as paranormal, spiritual, ufo conspiracies etc.

onstellar facebook

Introducing Onstellar.

@onstellar are creating a social media platform built on top of the blockchain, exclusive to the paranormal and have created their own token. I read the white paper yesterday with interest, I would suggest reading it, even if you are not interested in the paranormal field, you might be interested in some of the explanations they give about their token. I feel that many of my questions were answered after reading this regarding how a token can work.

The white paper covers a lot, it gives all the categories that define paranormal and spiritual so it shows whether if you are a content creator, or have an interest in this field would you be a good fit, as they also plan to reward curators for up voting and supporting content creators.

They explain how the payout works which is similar to the current platform so you would get a 50/50 payout. 50% Onset Dollars and 50% Onset power. They are soon going to launch a token sale, so I may consider buying some tokens. The only thing I am not sure about is the token sale seems to have to be from coinbase, if its built on the steem platform why can we not pay in SBD or Steem for them, or if we are able to do this?? This is also confusing because the post relates to an SMT built on the steem blockchain but the FAQ shoes it is built on the Etherium Blockchain ERC20. They have not stated whether the Token was provided through an AMM, but they do mention that the token will have liquidity so this makes me believe that this is the route they have gone down, giving the size of the team and the apparant substantial backing they have.
I am wondering if initially they were going to use an Etherium token but have since discovered the platform, or whether more than one token is being used ( I am not sure if that can even be done?)

(Credit Pixabay)

The new platform, appears to have some considerable backing, from major players in the paranormal field spanning across the globe, who work in media such as radio and television.

Not only will you be able to produce content, they also mention other things that users can access such as an archive of information via video, written etc that will be already available. But what this information is and where it will come from I do not know.
The app will also have a very interesting feature where you will be able to find places of interest near you, such as haunted houses and ancient buildings.

I have registered

So I have registered in advance and waiting for information about the token sale, I think they have tapped into something interesting here. The figures do show that the market is very healthy, with both viewers and content curators.
Registration is easy you need your name, address, steemit profile ID and an ETH wallet key, I think this is primarily for the oncoming token sale that will be launched shortly.

Although @onstellar looks to be new to the community, they seem to have been working on this project for sometime, their facebook group shows over 700 likes and they are promoting across all social media channels.

The whitepaper also talks about transparency and non censorship, I think this may be particularly valuable for those who look to uncover conspiracy theories, particularly when we look at things like area 51, roswell etc Which would make it appealing to such content creators.

(Credit Pixabay)

What I am still unsure of however.

onstellar facebook

It appears the platform will be an app for a smart device I do not think this is , which I truly hope this is not the case, and a desktop version will be made available. Seeing that many of us here on steemit are more used to this technology, it would be a difficult transition to make.
On top of that I am not sure whether video content for example will be connected via DTube or DLive for instance, or whether they are going to create their own portals for these types of content. The same as myself now publishing a paranormal podcast on the platform.

It is a very broad spectrum and no doubt many updates will be required along the way, I truly would personally love to see this be successful, as long as this is not another repeat of sphere, which is a social media app connected to blockchain technology but full of people posting spammy links about ICO's and free bitcoin.

I hope to reach out to one of the owners of @onstellar to see if I can do a podcast interview to get more information to the unanswered questions that I have.

One final note.

Like many I am still understanding how tokens work so this information may not all be accurate this is my personal findings, if anything is incorrect please feel free to let me know with an explanation so that I can make necessary edits.

Thank you for reading.

xoxo

The STEEM Engine

step1.png

ASAPERS

My Achievements on Steemit.

Sort:  

Hey @crazybgadventure, I read your first post yesterday on PYPT!
Didn't know about this app, will have a look.
Have a nice day!
Luca ✌️

Its not my app @bafi im just sharing info I have a discord community for the paranormal.

It's definitely interesting to have something on such a niche - but I would also be wary that it may attract a lot of trolls. The amount of users engaging in this app would also be questionable. Maybe have a decentralised app does help people voice their honest opinions and truths - like steemit has been doing.

We can't be wary if its decentralized because then trolls cannot be censored we have to rise above
that and make them as small as possibe.

That's what I mean. The initial community has to be great to outweigh any trolls that my rise. There need to be some users that will make it really worth.

Oh I see what you mean yes I pointed that out in the post too.

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📉 7d
ETHEthereum622.166$2.97%-11.73%
SBDSteem Dollars2.249$0.85%-10.55%
SMTSmartMesh0.033$3.87%4.31%
STEEMSteem2.127$3.0%-14.04%

Thanks, as you know, this area is of interest to @aakom (although, as always, too much work to post regularly!)
Resteemed and upvoted by the MAP-AAKOM community.
Will be included in the next "Resteems" post.

Thank you so much as always for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77