Paragliding tips and tricks #1steemCreated with Sketch.

In a effort to pump up the hashtag #paragliding, and to give inspiration to new pilots, I will start posting little things that I am learning along the way.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 8.00.05 AM.png

I want to quote Dennis Pagen in the book "Understanding The Sky"

When the wind is crossing on the face of a mountain less lift is produced because it is partially deflected sideways as well as up. In fact, the steeper the slope the more the deflection. The lift on a vertical cliff face is more sensitive to direction of the wind than a more gentle slope. A vertical cliff (angle of slope =90 degrees) will lose half its lift if the angle of the wind changes 30 degrees off the perpendicular. On the other hand, a 15 Degree slope won't lose half its lift until the angle of the wind is 60 Degrees off. However, even at the half value, the lift over a cliff is still greater than that offer a 15 Degree slope at full value in the same wind.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

You might need to read this about 5 times to get it. Never the less I like it.

  • What did we learn here?

When you are trying to fly a site where the wind is "cross" the lift is almost non existent. It isn't until the wind is up the face of the hill that you are going to find enough lift when you don't have any thermal action. I have experience both now, and I will prefer the wind up face. Hope this helps you, or inspires to fly.

  • Check out these post for more:

https://steemit.com/paragliding/@captainobviou3/paragliding-101
https://steemit.com/paragliding/@captainobviou3/paragliding-work-out-10-15-minute-hike-with-45lbs-on-your-back-3-times

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 7.25.39 AM.png

Sort:  

Cheers Cap't, I had the same book years ago........ I shouldn't have sold it. I do find that the Touching Cloudbase book though does cover the majority of the important stuff [he said even though he hasn't read it in ages cough, cough lol]

I will give you steem for that book😂

Is it available in USA? I've got an old '3rd Edition' version.

Here's a nutter holding up a copy ;)

NICE! LOL Love it! You crack me up!

Thanks matey, I do my best :)

Awesome! Upvoted and Followed!

Are you a pilot? Thanks for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51