After people find out I am a new paraglider pilot they always ask the same thing...

in #paragliding7 years ago (edited)

"How did you get into that? How does someone learn to fly a paraglider?" I usually say the same thing, "I saw it on YouTube."

Understanding the sky.JPG

I am an engineer. See my first post.https://steemit.com/engineer/@captainobviou3/knocking-at-the-door-sound-new-guy-walks-in-thanks-for-inviting-me

I spend most of my day figuring out how to save money for the high-rise I look after. In the down time, study of the weather, and a close eye on the next report for flying conditions.

A quick shout out for @paleotreats for telling me about steemit.com...He is the one who loaned me this book called "Understanding the sky" by Dennis Pagen

This book is not easy to digest as it is filled with new terminology for me.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 8.54.35 AM.png

Nevertheless, I need to get back to work. Enjoy the book, if you can find it.

Sort:  

It's important to note that you've taken the unusual and super fearless path of teaching yourself to paraglide. It's a sport with HUGE consequences for mistakes, and you've totally stepped in and gone into mega-learning mode in order to mitigate the possibility of those consequences. It's awesome to be around you and see how you approach learning. Inspiring, for sure! Keep reading, the more you know the safer you are!

Word! Love flying with you my friend!

Ahh, that awesome feeling of your first flight. Well done Robert :) The first of many.

Yes sir! Good Morning my friend. pours another cup

Morning to you Robert though it's 9:15pm here in Yorkshire lol.

Oh dear. I forgot you were on the other side of the world...LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45