Papercraft Hobby and Skull

in #papercraft6 years ago (edited)

0.jpg

I'm sure everyone has at least some knowledge of papercraft, it's basically cutting and gluing paper into shapes and models. Most people have tried making a cube (dice) from a printed out template. The more complex models are like puzzles, looking for pieces and getting a final image. I've made many papercraft models but only kept one most difficult one, a couple simply fell apart.

6.jpg

A great program for papercraft is pepakura.There's a bunch of templates made by people. The skull was designed by a very talented person named Alexey Shlyk, here is the model link, it's a pdo file for pepakura. there are a couple of useful features in the program such as 2D menu> show edge id which show's where what pair of edges go.

For most models thicker paper is advised, 120-160g/m2, I used 80g and the skull isn't holding up too well, I use a surgical scalpel for the cutting. Here's a few steps of putting the skull together, there's a total of 7 pages of parts. The model took 3 days total to make(around 12 hours a day).

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

I'm making another skull, this time printed on 160g, It's much easier now that I know where things go. This model is extremely well designed, It's very anatomically accurate. I had an evolution class in uni where we studied about all the ancient bones. One class in particular was very interesting when we got to see and hold all the skull replicas. This papercraft is even composed of two parts separately, the mandible and skull. After I finish the thicker model I'll make sure to spray it with transparent acrylic pain to strengthen it.

5.5.jpg

5.jpg

I'll make sure to add the new skull as soon as I finish it. Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

I really love papermodels too @ivan-g...
That skull looks a bit tricky for me - I find it hard to glue and keep the shape of models...

Shape is definitely a problem, try thicker paper and using less glue, there's a couple tricky part, fun though :)

That skull looks great! And the internet is so cool for being able to share and download patterns. My first experience with papercraft was when someone (I don't remember who now) bought me this book that had a bunch of pirate ships in them that you could pop out and fold and insert tab A into slot B and end up with pirate ships with little cannons and things. It was only years later when I got into this social media stuff that I noticed the awesome stuff different people were coming up with XD

goatsig

That boat thing sounds interesting, I've made one papercraft boat around 4 years ago but i fell apart after a year xD

What a fascinating project! I've never seen a paper model so detailed as that skull, nor so charming as those buildings in the second shot! This is amazing!

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you ^^, too bad the building was a bit squashed during travel :s

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's a more complicated model, theres easier ones out there ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51