I am Officially a Panama Permanent Resident!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #panama7 years ago

12719116_10156420479595315_8320149625802748703_o.jpg

Four Years After We Began I Officially Have My Residency in Panama.

It has been a difficult ride. We hit so many hurdles on my road to residency in Panama but it is officially completed. I went the marriage route but for those of you interested in Panama Residency I recommend going the investment route or through the friendly nations visa route.

Panama is a Wonderful Country but Not Perfect.

If you are planning to move here or anywhere in Central America I recommend you live here as a tourist first. So many people come down here and can not hack it. I am lucky because @AnaHilarski is Panamanian. If it was not for my wife I probably would have moved to Colombia a few years ago.

Good Things About Panama.

  1. Freedom
  2. Cost of Living
  3. Taxes
  4. Like-minded Individuals
  5. Crypto Currency Hub

Bad Things About Panama.

  1. Customer Service
  2. Government Ineptitude
  3. Traffic
  4. Infrastructure
  5. Lack of Respect for the Environment

Test the Waters Before Making a Decision.

If you are serious about moving down here then you must try it out before making a full commitment. I can't express this enough. I do not feel bad for people who move down here and end up leaving quickly because they could not adjust.

If you visit let me know so that we can meet for a coffee or a beer.

Check out my article, "Panama Cost of Living 2017."

Sort:  

I guess that you feel a great relief now.
Congratulations!

Big time relief.

Congrats.

How much did it cost you in total to go through the whole process? What was the most expensive component of the whole ordeal?

Thanks.

I did it through marriage so it was cheaper a few thousand but for someone going through the Friendly Nations path it would cost around $7K plus you need $5k in a bank account in Panama.

Well, I'm not sure the marriage option is available for me LOL ;-) . The $7k cost + $5k bank account deposit isn't bad I suppose. Actually, that seems very doable. Thanks for replying, appreciate it.

Congratulations for your new nationality!!!

Congrats dude, where you from actually?

great place,enjoy beautiful moment

randy-hilarski-anabell-hilarski-panama-punta-chame.jpg

Rottenchester

Congratulations, I would like to know this country, it is beautiful

Awesome place...with great shot in sunset ...have a nice time

Congratulations! I wish you many happy days in Panama and feel yourself at home there!:)

Congratulations @hilarski. I love seeing more and more people moving down to Central America from around the world. I myself lived in El Salvador for more than 2 years with my husband and 2 boys (my husband is from there). I understand how frustrating, hard and time consuming it is to get Residency in those countries. I absolutely love El Salvador and the life style, but like you said it is not for everybody and of course there are great things about it and bad things about it, and they are pretty much the same like you prescribed it. We are working hard to go back to El Salvador and enjoy our lives there. Very happy for you and Ana. Love the picture. Following to see more of your life in Panama.

Wow, I have never heard of anyone moving to El Salvador. I imagine the cost of living is a fraction of Panama.

Congratulation , have a great day. visit to panama , very beautiful couple photography. thanks @hilarski
your all the best.

Congrats man. Their is more good things than bad. Weather also most be awesome. My ex-girlfriend visited Panama as a tourist and she sad it was just amazing.

Felicidades

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62613.51
ETH 3019.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93