Step-by-step drawing a portrait with pencils on rough cardboard

in #palnet5 years ago

I have to say, I do not paint portraits as often as I would like. But sometimes friends and acquaintances ask them to portray and then I get to work.


This time one friend from another city asked me to draw her from a photo. I started by taking a sheet of thick gray A3-size cardboard, preparing charcoal-tone pencils, a white pastel pencil, an eraser, and a feather.


For a start, Xia made a light sketch and perform it according to the rules of proportions. Here no visible construction lines, I erased them, leaving only the outline of the future drawing.


The beauty of charcoal pencils is that they are soft and very easy to react to the force of pressure. They can be easily shrouded, because they are similar in properties to pastel, coal or sanguine.


As soon as the main lines are finished, I start working on the main blocks of the face. At first it looks rough and angular, but let's see what happens then.


Gradually, as the light and dark areas of the drawing appear, I add details. I do not forget to squint my eyes to understand where to stroke harder and there were no errors in the tone level.


With hair most of the problems, because they need to do as much detail. In the portrait, everything should look as similar as possible to the original and drawn in detail. Here, actually, and all work. I hope you enjoyed my little post.



Grey rough cardboard, charcoal pencils, dimensions 42x31 cm

Sort:  

I can feel the harmony of your strokes in this work. The cross hatching for the background and the doodle and curvy lines for the hairs are superb.

resteemed

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, buddy! I don't paint portraits that often, but that's just because there's never enough time.

Haha you are right. There is never enough time to finish a piece. So the saying "art is never finished, it is only abandoned"

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so great @yurche ! I love the hatching on every part of the portrait !!!
And because it is brown- I LOVE IT MORE!!! It is my favorite color

Thank you, @aalagenesis! I very like to draw on tinted paper

I would like to see more of your artworks! I'm really glad I followed you !!!

Thank you, same ) I draw a lot in the last time, I will try to regularly publish my work.

I will watch for that !!!

Owl watch for that !!!


I am a bot. I turn comments into owl related puns.

Oh really? Brown is your favorite color? That's rare.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup. Most of my artworks are made of brown. And my psuedo name is Kulay Kahoy which means color of the wood

Now I see why you love brown.
Bravo!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
a1Hc.jpg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Потрясающий портрет!

Ох, спасибо : )

🎉 Congratulations @yurche! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45