Musings on Birth

in #palnet5 years ago

Nothing is more beautiful and awe inspiring to me than witnessing birth. It is one thing to deliver your own children of which I am the proud mother of three. There wasn't much for me to see being that I was the one delivering the child.

The closest I came to seeing one of my children being born was my daughter. There was h a mirror at the end of my bed supposedly to allow the mother tow watch the birth process, if she was awake for it, but the mirror was positioned higher than needes and the only thing I witnessed was her head crowning as I was wheeled in. Her head had a full shock of short hair. I remember remarking with amazement that my daughter had hair because my mother had told me that I was born bald with just a very light dusting blond hair. I remarked, too, once it dried that it felt as soft as rabbit fur and I spent many hours stroking her blonde hair.

I was present for the birth of my first grandchild, a granddaughter, Gabrielle, and when the naked baby slid out of the birth canal and into the doctor's hands I saw her in all of her glory, enthralled with the miracle of life and I watched as the doctor hurried to take care of the umbilical cord. The nurse wiped off the waxy white substance from her body and Gabby cried a healthy, loud cry.

I witnessed four of my six grandchildren's births and my nephew's birth and I never grew tired of this experience. The energy in the delivery room as a new life enters the world is one I cannot compare with any other spectacle.

One of my grandsons was born with complications. My daughter had intended to deliver naturally from home but due to a trip to the emergency room a week prior to delivery and some unexplained pain, the Midwife advised her that she would have to give birth in a hospital, unfortunately. It actually became a very fortunate thing because no one knew that he had a birth defect.

When he was born with both cleft and palate his father, my daughter's ex-husband, was temporarily repulsed by his own son as he slipped from the birth canal.

I immediately began to calm my son-in-law down and advise him that this condition is correctable with surgery and that the baby would be fine and proved otherwise very healthy. The surgeries today are very advanced and eventually will leave him with very little evidence of scarring.

My grandson, Scott, who prefers to have himself called Kyle now, is 15 and scheduled for his final surgery. They will be closing up the palate and correcting an issue with his nose. This cosmetic point did not get corrected with his second surgery as an infant. Although they tried, he would not keep his hands away from his face causing his nose to retain some disfigurement. Kyle is a very handsome young man and I can't wait to see him after his final surgery. I feel confident that he will be pleased with the results.

I would happily sit in again if asked on another birth.

Photo of Kyle and me over five years ago.

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt naked baby
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I've never seen a baby born. It must be interesting! I've seen animals give birth, but that's just not the same thing.

That's a lovely story! I've only witnessed one birth, other than being present for my own three, and I was assigned to picture taker at the very last minute. I did not know how to use the camera (this was before cell phones) and I got so flustered trying to take pictures I missed out on the beauty of the birth. This birth was of twins and they both came whooshing out.
I'm glad Kyle will be finishing up his surgeries. At 15, he must be very anxious to do so.

Thank you for reading! I really appreciate you stopping by and commenting as well as dropping by the daily from. Yes I believe he is a bit more common but you know he's a boy so they don't talk about things like that LOL @owasco

Posted using Partiko Android

He is a handsome young man. You're blessed with a beautiful family.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @isgledysduarte. I agree and I am extremely thankful. He's a fine young man and going through those rough teen years with this kind of issue takes a bit of courage.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have been present at quite a few births as well and it is a wonderful thing.

Your grandson looks lovely even without the final surgery. And it is really fantastic what can be done these days!

Yes, he's a handsome young man @mariannewest. The closing of his palette is the primary focus. His first surgery it was not possible due to the size of the hole. They reccomend that a child wait until puberty. He has delayed it until his Dad recommended it again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Kyle is a handsome 10-year-old in that picture!

Yes, he is, @improv! Thank you for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-697-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-mystery-books

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64