Hot Tomales and Mom

in #palnet5 years ago


Mom's Wedding Announcement Photograph

Our memories can be sparked by seemingly insignificant things like hot tomales. Mom had strange food tastes and was known to eat three bean salad or German salad for breakfast. She was a huge fan of beans and one treat she bought occasionally for herself was frozen Mexican dinners with hot tamales. We lived rural and when I was growing up there were no Mexican restrictions in rural Pennsylvania.

To satisfy her craving she'd purchase some frozen Mexican meals in little tin trays. The pools of juice and cheese poured over the tomales didn't impress me, but she'd dive in with joyous relish.

I wonder how they would compare with a real Mexican restaurant. We didn't even have Taco Bell when I was growing up.

I can see her at the table pulling the lid off of her frozen dinner quite pleased at the beans, hot tomales and rice. I can even remember the distinct aroma. It didn't impress me in the least, but her genuine pleasure at the pan of messy food left a good memory of her.

Mom was a simple woman with a deep, intelligent mind. She was quiet most of the time and spent hours in her gardens of food and flowers and would walk outside looking for toads to show my sister.

Simple, down-to-earth and appreciative of the little things in life were the things she brought with her from her childhood.

Mom's parents were poor and they lived in a town not far from where I live now as a teenager. The family had an outhouse and horses. Grandpa would eventually run the neighborhood auctions and be the MC at the local horse shows.

Horse shows were my favorite and I loved the smell of the horses and leather tack.

Little memories like her frozen Mexican meals take me way back to childhood and create a warm spot in my heart.

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt hot tomale.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What is it about black and white photos that make ladies look so elegant and feminine? Your mother looks like a refined lady more given to gracefully pecking at cucumber sandwiches sans crust than tucking heartily into Mexican frozen dinners.

These black and whites did make ladies look elegant and I agree. I always thought she was so beautiful! @deirdyweirdy. Thank you for reading and commenting. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent memories and quality time with mom and dining out must’ve bee really fun. @tipu curate

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @roger5120. She was a wonderful woman.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wandrnrose7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.
You received more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh what a memory!
Simple, down-to-earth and appreciative of the little things in life were the things she brought with her from her childhood. That sounds like vast riches to me.
Freewrites have brought back nearly forgotten memories for me. Several of them have been of my mother.
This is a really nice freewrite. Thanks

Thank you, @awasco. I agree with how freewriting has opened memory windows! ❤🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

She was so beautiful. All sounds lovely. I loved your freewrite.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43