JOIN ME on my particular STOP POWER DOWN MONTH ("SPDM")

in #palnet5 years ago


Yesterday I wrote this post on which I wrote that we should consider the option to start a campaign similar to the STEEM POWER UP DAY aka #SPUD but in the inverse way in order to see and quantify what is the effect on the steem PRICE if we manage by at least a couple of weeks to stop feeding the exchanges with fresh STEEM.

I have called it the STOP POWER DOWN MONTH aka #SPDM and I think the effect can be beneficial for every body, including witnesses and whales because if we create scarcity we would have a lot of chances to see STEEM growing at the CoinMarketCap.

Despite I am pretty happy with my list of selected/voted witnesses, I am going to start doing my particular campaign by removing my witness votes from those witnesses within the top 20 that keeps Powering Down.

For your information the following is my current list of witnesses:

@abit
@actifit
@aggroed
@arcange
@blockbrothers
@cervantes
@coingecko
@cryptopassion
@curie
@dragosroua
@drakos
@emrebeyler
@fyrst-witness
@good-karma
@gtg
@holger80
@klye
@lukestokes
@mahdiyari
@partiko
@pharesim
@quochuy
@roelandp
@steemitboard
@steempeak
@steempress
@swisswitness
@themarkymark
@therealwolf
@yabapmatt

I am going to analyse each one of them, if you are within the first 20 top witnesses and you still keep powering down I will remove my vote on you, at least temporary.

It could be great to know as well the opinion of the witness community...hope they comment.

It would be great if more steemians follow also this campaign, if you agree with me RESTEEM would be appreciated.

If you feel like not having time to do a proper analysis and still think that mine is fair , you can also choose me as your proxy that will vote for witnesses for you.

Just, keep using your witness votes doing an important work.

image.png

Steem on!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://scrips.io/blog/toofasteddie/join-me-on-my-particular-stop-power-down-month-spdm/
Sort:  

We're not included in your list of witnesses, and that's a-okay, but I will say that we do have a small continual power down. We power down just enough to pay for all of the servers that we run. Any overages after our sever bills (which isn't always much, but that's just the way the market goes), we split in half and power back up. When I look at what the "pay" for securing and keeping the blockchain running is, I don't feel bad in using the equivalent part of it to continue providing those services.

This may or may not be contentious, and I really do agree that constantly powering Steem out of the system vs. trading or building with it can be harmful, but I did want to give you a side perspective. Running a main consensus node, two backups, a seed, and an RPC does add up, and for many of us, we have additional jobs that pay our "home" bills. The rewards we earn from witnessing (in our case) simply go back to being the best witnesses we can be and upholding our commitments to the chain. We're just ordinary guys, who are slowly getting bigger over time~ kind of like Steem in general, I hope :D

Just Consider for a moment that if you stop powering down, steem would have more chances to increase the price at the market and then, a better position and better visibility...
Scarcity is the best tool for that...

After getting a higher value you can start powering down again and getting better profits...

Are you within the top 20?

Which is your witness account and on which position you are?

Btw, have you considered the fact that powering up your stake and upvoting higher can give you more?

haha, I have indeed. I have never personally powered down my Steem, ever. Trust me when I tell you that I indeed know all the things you are saying. The only reason we could afford to run the thousand dollars per month amount of servers is because we use real world, non-steem money to pay for them. I promise you that you we are getting a high value. We are indeed currently top 20 witnesses: @followbtcnews.

Both of us started here two years ago as minnows. We bought Steem, helped build communities, posted, and spent all our time working on being the best witnesses we could be.. which, in the low numbers cost us directly out of pocket with no guarantee of profit.

Two years later, we're still here. We're huge community supporters. We do not use our witness for profit, other than to power up what it costs above and beyond our witness servers to run (including full public resources that anyone can use at no cost, period), and even that is split between the two of us. We don't take a Steem salary in any way which means none of that powerdown gets sold just because, though arguably, we could. Both of us work full time jobs off chain and still put money in to Steem. We also both manually curate, give out the best votes we can, and are heavily involved with PAL and have been since ten days after founding. I actually found your post while curating on PALnet, which is why I thought I might offer you a different view point, of where a small power down has made it so we can continue to do things that make Steem better for all.

After reasing this comment, @crimsonclad, im updating my witnesses. I havent in a while and this is a remimder why i should.

Cheers! I'm not actually here trying to sway anyone. We are a quieter witness team. But I think when the question is asked or the movement suggested, the least we can do is weigh in when we see it~

Quiet and doing stuff... just how i like it. 💚💚💚🙏🙏🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your elaborated reply. I really understand your point but I wonder if a coordinated stop of the Powering Down would positively impact the situation of STEEM at the market... Hope I would reach major whales including @steemit , @ned and others because I really think there would be an important impact on the price.

I want just to clarify that I am not against any witness in particular. I think they/you are the most important actors within this blockchain but also I think that you can work in a coordinated way in order to try to improve the economic situation...perhaps a coordinated temporary stop of power down would help as well...

Btw, I really don't know if your powering down is covering the thousand dollars a month of cost you have for running the servers but I think that sending more than 8000 Steem to different exchanges just on May should cover that and more...

Again, believe me, I am not against witnesses, I am only trying to be constructive by proposing something that makes sense to me...

Definitely! A minimum of 2k of that this month alone is for a project code bill that needed paying, but I'm sure we can both recognize I wouldn't point you to a public, transparent wallet and then try to tell you all sorts of shennanigans about it. I don't think you're against anyone or suggested that you were, and as I've said, all I do with my account is power up, vote more, delegate to projects and people and do the best I can to grow everything. I thought you may or may not appreciate why there is a powerdown and wanted to stop to answer you while I was doing my manual curation rounds.

As with anything we do with our witness, we're always here to answer and explain as best we can; we often expect people won't like the answers and we can't guarantee we'll change them, but I can also say that a powerdown isn't entered lightly. We don't have an account that sells a service in Steem (more fool us, perhaps.) If I were rolling in the dough in real life, I'd be buying more and more Steem and paying witness servers with couch change, but I'm not really in that boat. I don't think there's anywhere I said "woo hoo, let's all powerdown, it's great for the system!" People should be excited and finding benefit in reasons to stake and build and grow. I also think that powerdowns and sale are a very small negative factor in a stagnating overall system dominated by an entity which will programmatically sell no matter what anyone does, which is part of why I'm also so involved in PAL. In any case, I answered not to sway your vote, change your mind, simply to acknowledge that you wrote and to offer my own view on things since that's what posting on the blockchain for people to read has a goal of doing.

I see some people in there who should never be witnesses, for all the evil they cause in this blockchain. And I won't say more or else I will get flagged again.

I resteemed both your #spdm posts.

Since I'll be mostly offline and in the mountains till tomorrow evening I will check then what the responses to your call will be.

Yes, there are expenses to be covered. Maybe, I am thinking aloud, an arbitrary limit for the weekly power down would be considered in order. I don't know how much this figure could be and it's not really important. It's the call, the reason behind it, and setting the example and proper stand that counts.

Good luck with your initiative!

Thanks man! We should give some breathe to STEEM to recover a good level of prices, this is just an option more as the #SPUD but, in this case, with the support of the witnesses

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like these public calls - but more crucial is that steem needs less selling - and more trading. :) It's not assuring with so much liquidity on the exchanges without any volume.

As a community project & witness (crowdwitness) we have never powered down, nor planning to in the next year, after that we will evaluete everything. But something is very strange in witness ranking (there, I said it) :)

Anyways, I'm supporting this project (even tho I don't know how other than morraly) :) I'm all into powering up!

Cheers!

Thanks man, I will vote you as a permanent witness...as a kind of support, perhaps resteeming this post can help reaching more people...

Right! Intended to do - got distracted - messy night. )

Also regarding curie (witness #4 - we are powering down to pay the servers - and weekly "pay" curators for finding all the posts) whatever is left we power back up. It's just cycling, but we do that for all the users - and to add to crimson some are even running witnesses in negative balance - however.

I support this move too! :) half of the month is past and probalby all the servers have been paid :)

Thanks man! Do you think the rest of the main witnesses would support it? Should I ask them specifically?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Can't really say. Our node is not really important nor influential to have any say here. :) we are low in rankings - so probably our views and work is not popular amongst big stakers.

Curie is just a project without one man behind it, but people from steem to steem (otherwise I wouldn't be allowed anywhere near it). :)

Maybe It would be nice just to point out - and you are already doing that - no need to shove it in their face, on the other hand steemit is selling much more steem than any of the witnesses.

I know, but I thought that if we have a major support from main witnesses maybe @steemit would be more receptive to also support it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

btw, I agree with you, we need less selling...that's exactly what whales and some big witnesses I guess are doing permanently...

@toofasteddie is my proxy , thx for taking care

Thanks to you for your permanent support

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great idea! I’m new to the community so I’m not sure how well it will be received, but hopefully well!!!

The key (as always ) will be participation & awareness!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey! Welcome man! The community is great here, we are always willing to promote and support ways for STEEM to success. Following you btw 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @toofasteddie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.515 which ranks you at #1931 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 46 places in the last three days (old rank 1885).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thank you for the support to our witness @toofasteddie 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68109.99
ETH 2636.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69