Why is my writing NOT to plan?

in #palnet5 years ago

I very often say, I am am going to write about THIS, or I am am going to write about THAT, and then do neither, writing about something completely different.

delete.jpg

When it comes down to it, I read too much, and I think too much. Oh, there are other factors, like getting sick or injured (far too much of both over the last year), or keeping up with breaking news.

But, at the beginning of the "work" day, I write whatever is on my mind. While planning a writing schedule helps me to a certain extant, promising an in-depth reply to a comment does not. That does weigh on my mind, as for a good chunk of my life, I felt I would stick to my my word on any given thing I said, and I did exactly that. Now, broken promises weigh on my mind, but do not drive my action. I don't know if that is due to fatigue, or simply too many broken promises on other people's part, but I just don't do as I did before.

Instead, because I read and think too much, I am constantly revising what I want to write about. I also have a huge database of past writing, from grad school or social media or even from past writing here, that I can drop in when I don't feel like writing; I sometimes use past Steemit articles to re-ignite the thinking process. I find I usually enjoy reading my own writing. I don't know if that's a sign of narcissism or not LOL. I can, pretty easliy, write a Not-Quite-The Ministry-of-Truth-News post. All that takes is a little searching in my feeds, and a bit of snark (which is even easier to come by considering the idiots that produce #fakenews these days). But I feel like I'm cheating when I do that.

So if I do have time to read something, or to think, before I sit down to write on a plan, I often start writing a "better" version. I think what I am aiming at are "perfect" posts, in which I lay out an argument clearly and in as few words as possible. And that is impossible. Inevitably, I will find a point that should be included, or something I had wrong before, or a line of argument that needs further exploring, or...or, or, or. At the end of the day, no one can explain any subject in one post. There is always more to consider. No one has all the answers, and if they claim they do, then they are liars. We can only project our own knowledge or share someone else's knowledge, and there is too much anti-knowledge out there. That doesn't even address different base values amongst people. That can lead to here is a post on another subject completely, but it does have something to do with my ultimate post posting.

Reading is easy for me, and I enjoy it. That leads to putting off writing. And when I read, I think, which also leads to putting off writing. And that is a constant working condition of mine before any of life's distractions come into play. Hell, I haven't written any fiction in almost two years, and while I have stories to write, they are secondary in importance to what needs to be be taken from mind and put to webpage.

Basically, if I have said, I'm going to answer this in a post, than a post is a'comin'. It might not be tomorrow, but I haven't forgotten it.

...and no, it won't be perfect ;>

Sort:  

There's only one way to write... sit down and do it. I don't revise anything- I don't even reread what I write-I just say what I have to say and move on to my next project. And for God's sake, change those ridiculous clothes!

the advice of Pournelle and King! I mean about writing, not changing my chick-magnet fluffy shirt!

I only know what works for me. I got bogged down writing a book about 25 years ago and due to constant revisions it never got done. Now I just blow and go!

we need more wimminz like you LOL,cept you're talkin bout writing

You don't want wimmin like me- I'm the kind that clubs you over the head and takes your wallet!

You must strike while the iron is hot.

Words written down in the moment of passion, although imperfect, are at least, written down. And often have much more force then the perfect piece we strive for.

i too run into a place where i have lots to say... but need graphs and charts and a cover image... and so, nothing gets to the reader.

i have found no way to make it work, except to write while i have the urge.

agreed on all points; I will suggest zotero for you tho, which will let you organize pics and charts so they are there when you need them

https://steemit.com/study/@stevescoins/zotero-for-scholars-students-and-archivists-a-free-tool-for-organizing-and-citing-your-research

  • another point is that I have not had a problem with going back to an old steemit article and re-doing it...I try to keep it outside of a 6 month window at the least, but it's one way to update a "draft" with pics and incorporate the useful comments folks leave

I don't know if that's a sign of narcissism or not LOL

Nothing wrong with a healthy dose of that - it can gets things done!
I have a million more things to write/produce, than I ever do.

It's a good sign, and not something to beat yourself up about.

Congratulations @stevescoins! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1300 posts. Your next target is to reach 1400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39