How to Use a Ferro Rod & Striker to Start a Fire

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

Today, I want to share my beautiful Ferro rod and striker set. This set was hand-crafted by Sunset Bay Bonnie. The handles are made of padauk and burl wood. Super awesome!


Lovely, isn't it?


I am pretty sure many of you know how, but for those who may not know, I want to show you

How to use a Ferro Rod & Striker to start a fire.


Step 1. Using the back of a knife, scrape the sides of a fatwood to get shavings. It only takes a tiny amount of shavings to start a fire.

Step 2. Gather the shavings into a pile. Then aim the Ferro rod at the shavings. The Ferro rod should be positioned just a tad above the shavings.

Step 3. Put the striker against the Ferro rod. With a gentle gliding motion, push the striker against the Ferro rod with light pressure. A gentle gliding motion and light pressure is the better method than a chopping motion. There is no need to dig into the Ferro rod. A little spark will do it!

Lighting a fire with Ferro rod and striker is easy peasy lemon squeezy!


I hope you enjoyed this short tutorial. I post everyday, so I will see you again soon... like tomorrow!
@silversaver888


@silversaver888 is a proud member of #steemsilvergold



♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

The Silver Saver Channel Bar, ltd. ed.

1 troy ounce, .999 fine silver, hand poured by MK Barz

available from MK Barz and Bullion, click the link here. Use discount code: SSA10 to get a 10% discount for the Silver Saver Channel Bar.
Thanks for your support!
Thank you to the silver savers of steemit who have added the hand-poured Silver Saver Bar to their collection and stack: @stokjockey, @underground, @silverd510, @vgholdingsllc, @dfinney, @dreemsteem, and @thedamus. Do you have a Silver Saver Bar? Please let me know if you do the comment section below.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥


Mene 24K jewelry is a great way to build a gold and platinum stack.

Earn $5 in Mene credit for signing up for Mene with this invite link: https://Mene.com/invite/cK5BKh


😊 Make it an AWESOME DAY!!!😊

Sort:  

Awesome, Babes! 😻😍😎
I know now we will be meeting after the SHTF, as you have all the bases covered. I feel that it is getting closer and closer, and that it will be a

🌊🌊🌊🏄‍♀️🏄‍♂️🌊🌊🌊 Financial Tsunami!!!

That is you and me "catching the wave" 👍😉

Yup, you need food, water, a way to start fire, silver and gold.....

Hot water for Jasmine tea, very important.

Posted using Partiko Android

And a prepper! You have all the bases covered @silversaver888. You rock!

I think many of us in SSG are preppers. I am going to try using the fire starter materials you shared with me. Perhaps I will do a sequel to this article, using those two things you told me! Thanks for the tip, my friend @vgholdingsllc!

I'm betting you'll be surprised by the one. Can't wait to see how it works for you!

Ms. Saver Very Nicely Done. I am glad that you are Posting Everyday. It's Friday and you have a Great Weekend..............@silversaver888

You know that it takes a lot of effort and time. I wish more people from the community come and visit my blogs and article. Perhaps the title is not interesting enough... perhaps many do not know what a Ferro rod is, or a striker... Have a great weekend, @stokjockey!

Not everyone is Aware of everything around Them. Just keep taking one day at a Time. People will comeback and participate......@silversaver888

Posted using Partiko Android

you did a great job starting that fire, i am so proud! im glad you like the things i make, makes my heart smile!

I didn't realize that you are in steemit too, @sunsetbaybonnie. I have to tell you, that I always show this Ferro Rod and striker set to my friends. It is a beauty. Thank you again!!!

This Post has been FREE CURATED in support of MINNOW POST PROMOTION - FREE UPVOTE,
You got a upvote from @adityajainxds.

If you like to join the contest,please follow @adityajainxds for daily updates.

If you want that your post should be curated, join MINNOW POST PROMOTION - FREE UPVOTE,

Special Thanks to @majes.tytyty & @swedishdragon
We are pleased to announce that we have received a delegation of 500 SP from @majes.tytyty & 400 SP from
@swedishdragon,Without their support, encouragement, and delegation, we would not have been able to revitalize this project.

Request you to please Upvote , Follow , Resteem @majes.tytyty & @swedishdragon

Very cool! Thanks, @adityajainxds! I just followed both @majes.tytyty and @swedishdragon.

Thank you silversaver888! You've just received an upvote of 69% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

We think alike, I keep a few Strikers in my SHTF kit along with lighters, candles, Biolite Outdoor grill, 1000W Inergy Solar powered generator, Berkey water filter, etc.

Way to go, sis @kerrislravenhill!! I suppose the "etc" includes your katana?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58