Are you using the tags correctly?

in #palnet5 years ago

It's a nice Friday morning in Vilnius and it promises to be a sunny day. I just woke up and want to create this post first thing in the morning because later I will go to cultural training about open art for our cultural center of the university. Hope to report my experience later in the afternoon here.

So anyway, last night I was scrolling the "New" feed on SteemLeo in the hopes of finding some "steemleo" tag abuse and I found 6 posts that were either Actifit reports, unrelated Twitter feed via share2steem, a meme or about sports and tagged "sportstalk".

I saw them earn only a fraction of LEO so far so I didn't want to flag them just yet. I decided to leave a warning comment first saying, "Please don't use steemleo tag for this type of post or you will get flagged. SteemLeo is for posts about investing only."

Out of these 6 people, 3 of them replied. One person simply wrote OK but 2 of them wondered about more details about investing, what do I mean.

I wrote to them that investing topics relate to crypto, stocks, trading, exchanges, tokens. Things like that.

But then I looked at their collection of tags and they seemed to be missing "neoxian" tag which is open for general use (within reason, I presume similarly to PALnet). So also I suggested instead of steemleo they could include neoxian tag in their posts.

One of them didn't use "sportstalk" in their Actifit report so I mentioned this as well.

You see, I think because all those new communities are basically brand new, some people don't know them all and don't know the rules of posting in specialized ones, like SteemLeo.

Sure, there is some real abuse when people are doing this repeatedly even after warnings or are just testing the waters to see how far they can go and what they can get away with.

For example I haven't found an information yet which would forbit using "sct" tag for non-korean posts (even though most of the posts there are Korean) so I used it on a few of my posts in the past. But now I see that there will be plenty of general tags to use for everyone so I stopped doing it.

By the way, I've read that this weekend Creative trybe is launching with it's token "CREATIVE". It could be great news for artists and musicians (I'm also wondering if other forms of creativity will be allowed here, including poetry, fiction, theater, movies, street art etc.)

So my final takeaway when you see misplaced tag on SteemLeo which hasn't earned a lot of LEO tokens yet, first thing ought to do would be to leave a warning comment with maybe some advice as well. I would only flag if I would see repeated abuse or large amounts of LEO earned or simply report it to @noleo4u.

What do you think?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello last night I heard about neoxian, it's something like PAL. Now I plan to use that tag too :)

I Used steemleo on one of my posts and you replied, lol... I won't use it anymore since I barely post anything related to investing
..thanks for the information

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem, you are a good person... Quick to learn...

Thanks for the useful information . I think that we all need to find time and carefully read the rules of new projects. There are a lot of them, but I only have 5 tags added. How can I add more?

Maybe there will come a time where they will allow us to use more tags. But not now.

I once saw a post about weedcash which said to always use that tag, the next post I made I obligingly used the tag and I got some comment from weed cash to not use the tag on anything but weed related articles, so I just figured the author of the post I had read was wrong and I removed the tag and commented I was sorry. I got a thank you from weedcash for removing the tag. So, yes sometimes you do things not out of malice but ignorance which in reality was my case, and also not thinking things through, but you know, shit happens.

Oh that's OK! You learn new things every day. And these communities they generally are very supportive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56