A Steem Adventure: The Temple RescuesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

entrance.jpg

So I decided today's the day.

I'm going to get in an Actifit routine. I brushed up on the "rules". A quick scan of the white paper tells me I need at least 5,000 steps to qualify for any sort of token reward. Once I hit 10,000 steps, I've hit the max reward possible.

Hmmm. What's that mean?

A Google search later, and I'm hip to the fact that 5,000 steps is approximately 2.5 miles.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm...

2.5 miles. Okay, yeah. I can do this.

Right?

I put on my Steemstyle shirt. What's Steemstyle? Sorry, that's another post.

With the Steem icon blazoned across my chest, and the Actifit app glowing bright on my phone, all I needed now was a destination!

I grabbed the youngest kid, we hopped in the car, and I drove us to the Cambodian Buddhist temple. What's great about the temple is that it's like entering another world. One minute you're in a suburban residential area...then there's industrial warehouses and office buildings...and suddenly you're Indiana Jones. There's golden statues and ornately carved walls. Everything looks mysterious and beautiful.

(Plus there's a TON of critical in-game locations for Pokemon Go and Wizards Unite GPS mobile games!)

temple1.jpg

I'm not Buddhist, but that doesn't mean I can't appreciate all the carefully crafted scenery.

I started to snap some photos in between my manly power-walking and masterful spell casting.

temple2.jpg

It was soooo hot outside. But the kid and I had Taco Bell freeze slushies, haha.

We walked. We slurped on our cold, refreshing beverages, and enjoyed the many statues.

temple3.jpg

We wandered up to a huge, gated section. Looking past the metal bars, we gazed upon a huge mini-lake filled with lily pads and foliage. On previous visits here, I believe we had seen large turtles there.

I snapped a photo with my phone.

Suddenly, a little black dog came racing up to us, barked, then ran around the corner of the enclosure. We looked at each other and decided to follow the dog. At first we thought the dog was scared and running away from us. But oddly enough, it had stopped and seemed to be calmly waiting for us to catch up.

Huh. Weird.

We casually walked around the side of the "lake", and that's when we heard something. It was faint. It sounded like a dog in pain...or pleading for help? It wasn't the dog we just followed (although looking around now, it appeared to have run away). The yelps were filled with panic and/or anguish.

It was my son that spotted the source of the barely audible cries for help.

help.jpg

In the distance, we saw what must have been a puppy that slipped through the bars in the gate and stumbled into the water. The little guy appeared to have trouble keeping its head above water. The ledge was too high for it to reach!

My son and I scrambled to look for a way through the gate. There seemed to be no clear entry to get into the area where the dog was struggling. There was nobody around. Any custodians of the temple were way over at the entrance (which would require a sprint to the car and a drive to the other side of the premises). I wasn't sure how long the dog could last.

That's when we noticed some stone steps, overgrown by grass but still visible. We tracked the steps to a corner of the surrounding gate. That's where we found a latch (that was unlocked!). After some quick fiddling, I swung open the gate and raced down the steps to the edge of the water.

paddling.jpg

I didn't realize how deep the water was. The poor dog was clearly cold and scared, paddling to stay afloat.

I reached down. The puppy was tired and wet, but otherwise he seemed to be okay.

rescue.jpg

For the remainder of our visit, the thankful doggo (as my 11 year old son likes to call them) followed us around, happily drying his fur in the warm sun.

He was extremely friendly and welcomed the attention that my kid gave him.

I was soooo tempted to take him home, haha! He had no collar, and it was unclear whether the groundskeepers held any ownership of the dogs, cats, and other animals that seemed to roam freely about. I'm assuming there was an understanding between them.

thedoggo.jpg

Finally, it was time to leave.

We made our way to the car. The dog followed.

When my son tried to close the passenger door, the dog attempted to climb in with us. "Sorry, doggo. You can't come with us..." Once the door clicked shut, we looked out the window to say goodbye.

But he was gone. We looked a full 360 degrees. He was nowhere to be seen. We were in a parking lot, so there was nowhere to "hide" other than UNDER the car.

Great. I saved the dog, just so I can run over it?

I opened my door and got out. I looked under the car. "Hey, doggy..."

"Doggy?"

There was no dog under the car. There was no dog anywhere around the car or in the parking lot.

Um...

The dog had...disappeared?

What's going on???

My kid got out and looked too. Okay, so it was a magic ghost dog.

While leaving the temple in our car, my son noticed a distant speck of what might have been the dog running through the nearby field. It was too far away to know for sure.

I didn't get in my 5,000 steps. No Actifit tokens for me. But that's okay.

Steem got me outside. I had a good time with my son.

And we saved the life of a magic ghost dog.

It was a good day.

lookingup.jpg

sigsteem_nateaguila.png

Sort:  

You're both heroes. What a nice and entertaining story. I just restarted an old fitness challenge if you want to vary from walking.

The best line that got me to laugh out loud, by myself...

Great. I saved the dog, just so I can run over it?

Thanks!

Yeah, I might do that. I need more exercise!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have heard about the actifit app but I am still yet to try it out

This post earned a total payout of 0.031$ and 0.023$ worth of author reward which was liquified using @likwid. To learn more.

With the introduction of the actifit app, it has helped many people to stay fit

This post earned a total payout of 0.031$ and 0.023$ worth of author reward which was liquified using @likwid. To learn more.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.01% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @nateaguila!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.252 which ranks you at #848 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 115 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @nateaguila!

You just got a 1.99% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @nateaguila! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46