You can't get a Bob

in #palnet5 years ago

To the surprise of many, Bob Ross has risen in popularity in an unprecedented manner in the last few years. As it turns out, there's a company that represents his legacy, sells a collection of products for painting and merch, but weirdly enough, does not sell any paintings.



Being the son of an artist and being married to one, I happen to love art profoundly and find his work beautiful. Some might say it was generic, but I think that his style and energy was perfectly captured in his work. I wouldn't call myself an expert by all means, but I can for some reason be sensitive enough to perceive artistic intention, and I think that is what matters the most.

Another interesting factoid is that none of the paintings are in a museum. Why? Well, it seems like this was the way Bob wanted it, or at least there's some footage of him saying as much. It's fascinating to think about this, because these paintings are worth millions of dollars, and selling one would be quite easy too.

In other words.... You can't get a Bob and neither can I... but if I was given the chance to own one, even if it required a big sacrifice, I think wouldn't hesitate.

MenO

Sort:  

Excellent review @meno and although we can't get pictures of Bob, but fortunately we can see them!

Check out those happy little tree friends.

And the rock named Harold... Don't forget

Posted using Partiko Android

Someone watched PBS this weekend! 🤔 I'd love to have one too!

Bob was one of my heroes when I was a child - and he is still because of his positivity he projected through his tutorials. I want her him every single night for around 1 year and I am still not able to evrn paint just a little like him. But I have adapted his way to deal with creativity and enthusiasm in every aspect of my life. He definitely influenced me and I hope many others as well.
I would like to buy a piece of him but as you've said, they are too expensive for a random guy like me haha

Thanks for reminding me of this. I think that made my week a positive week directly on Monday morning!

Peace!

Posted using Partiko Android

I still remember watching him waiting for Mr Rogers! He deserves the popularity although unfortunate that like many artist, not given until they are no longer around!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love Bob Ross, and The Joy of Painting is one of my sources of Zen.
I am convinced that all the secrets of life are in his shows.

It is incredibly relaxing to watch him paint

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64536.58
ETH 2626.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83