The Corpse Flower Is Almost Ready To Bloom At The Missouri Botanical Gardens

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone! Who’s ready to get the new week started?

I had a good weekend and tomorrow I'll be going back to work. I have a couple of jobs coming up that will be taking up most of my time.

Today is the last low key day for the next couple of weeks so I headed to The Missouri Botanical Gardens for a walk. I figured it would be a good idea to have some pictures to work with for the next week, so I grabbed our Nikon Z7 on the way out.


It is a good thing I thought to do so! It turns out the Corpse Flower was out in the Linnead House and getting ready to bloom.

DSC_2719.jpg

F-StopExposure TimeISOFocal LengthFlash
f91/320s50040mmNO

That is "Octavia"

It is a Amorphophallus titanium, otherwise known as The Corpse Flower.

DSC_2709.jpg

It is exciting when they bring her out! It blooms once every 2-3 years and is a huge draw to The Missouri Botanical Gardens. It brings thousands of tourists to the St. Louis area to see it's bloom. Just be ready for a huge stink, the bloom literally smells like a corpse!

DSC_2710.jpg

The last time "Octavia" bloomed was in 2017. There is a live camera feed you can watch when it starts blooming! It is expected to bloom any day now. You have to be fast, the bloom usually lasts around 24 hrs.

DSC_2713.jpg
Life cycle of Amorphophallus titanium

DSC_2711.jpg
Here is one from a little farther away

F-StopExposure TimeISOFocal LengthFlash
f81/250s50024mmNO

DSC_2717.jpg
A bit closer for you to see better!

F-StopExposure TimeISOFocal LengthFlash
f91/320s50026mmNO


I'm going to keep my eye on their social media feed and try to be there when it blooms. I know my coming days are going to be busy, but seeing the corpse flower bloom is time well spent.

When it does, I will take some more pictures and update everyone.

I hope everyone enjoyed learning about The Corpse Flower today. Now, I need to set up the camera and record a few videos for you guys. I have some songs I've been working on and I want to get them recorded before the night ends.

I will see you all soon, with big hugs from me...

20190707_115651.jpg

JGV

ALL PICTURES WERE TAKEN BY ME

Sort:  

I am going to get my family go see this spectacular flower. Thank you for sharing!

Hope you are close to St. Louis. Bloom only lasts for 24hrs and its expected this week.

Nice post, @ackza showed me this, upvoted 100% and resteemed! Taxonomy and zoological posts could be Huge for steem, especially with scotbot tribes, i could imagine tribes for each species https://steempeak.com/tribes

MOBOT is the second largest botanical garden in the U.S. behind New York. I'm there often taking pictures.

Hey thanks for dropping my https://SteemSpeak.com discord @steemspeak welcomes you and your disgusting rotting corpose flower that stinks from Miiiiles away

haha no seriously cool images i love how you have such a nice botanical gardens in Missouri!

I gave you a resteem upvote and showed to my friend @tytran

Thank you! I appreciate your welcome!



This article has been selected and voted by @omnesplantae Content Curator, visit the discord server for a 360 ° travel experience! https://discord.gg/zd7vFSz

You really had a good idea, this flower is fantastic! ;)
Thanks for your quality content!

Sweet, you are welcome!

Cool is that the same one they have in meet the parents I think it is?

I'm not sure, I have not seen that movie. I'll have to watch it someday and see if it is

Thanks for reading!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.

Sweet! No, literally...too sweet!

Stay Away from the 'plant'...

That is clearly an alien species, bruh.

I bet it reads your mind when you are close to it... No way to know WHAT it's doing with that information...
image.png

It's alive!!!! Pod plant people in the making. Thanks for checking out my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65